Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Virus Alert
Lothar Haensler
February 22nd, 2000, 01:33 AM
MIMESweeper just reported that I received an EMail with the subject "CodeGuru Discussions - Reply to your post", which contained a potential virus (Melissa).
I don't know how sick this world has become, and if it is a real virus and if it is one, what kind of brain-damaged individual that sent.
Just wanted to tell you, be careful if you receive messages...
Cakkie
February 22nd, 2000, 02:03 AM
If anybody gets a virus notification of melissa, please write down the exact time that the email was sent and post it on this board.
Also, be sure NOT to open this email in Word, wich will activate the virus.
For more info about melissa, check out http://europe.datafellows.com/v-descs/melissa.htm
Tom Cannaerts
slisse@planetinternet.be
The best way to escape a problem, is to solve it.
Chris Eastwood
February 22nd, 2000, 02:48 AM
I'm currently investigating this with our webmaster (although it's still very early in the US).
If anyone else receives a 'melissa' virus posted from the CodeGuru site (or appearing to come from the CG site), please send the entire mail (with full-headers) to my mail address : chris dot eastwood at codeguru.com
I'll keep you informed of any updates as they happen.
Chris Eastwood
CodeGuru - the website for developers
http://codeguru.developer.com/vb
AndyK
February 22nd, 2000, 09:48 AM
The brain-damaged and mentaly-challenged person is not the one who sent the virus, the on who coded it. I wonder what the developer of the virus think when he releases it into internet, does he actaully think that he will get some money out of it? Nothing more then years in prison and wasted life.....
codeguru.com
Copyright Internet.com Inc., All Rights Reserved.