CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Type Mismatch Reading Number From Oracle

Hello;

I am developping an app in ASP that connects to an Oracle database. I have just discovered the following problem:

When I read data from a column defined as data type 'Number' in Oracle, and I reference it in ADO say like...

if rs.Fields(2).Value <> 0 then

I get a type mismatch even though it would appear to be a number. If I do:

isNumeric(rs.Fields(2).Value) it returns false...BUT VB Script will allow me to do: Cint(rs.Fields(2).Value) and then it is a number that can be calculated. Very strange...I am new to Oracle and wondering if there is something I am missing. How can a field defined as 'number' be returned otherwise? And how is it that VB Script tells me it is not a number, but then goes ahead and converts it to an integer without throwing a type mismatch? Thanks much.

DA

What driver are you using to make the connection and have you validated the field itself is typed as numeric.

CInt will alow you to convert a number in a varchar2 field just fine but when you hit any alpha characters it will blow up your code.

Also, if you are using the MS For Oracle or an Older Oracle driver it may mistype the actual output. Make sure you are using the most current version of the Oracle drivers to ensure all old and newer datatypes are fully covered.

Hi there;