CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Need Help in Understanding HOWTO Write UNICODE String to a File

How do I write to a file using UNICODE. I have searched the archives with no real answers. What do I need to do first, second and third.

I know how to use var.WriteString("whatever");

What are the parameters do I use to open a file to write?
    Do I do it this way:
    Code:
    sConfFile.Open((CString)m_sConfigFile,CFile::modeCreate|CFile::modeNoTruncate|CFile::modeWrite);
    or is there another way.

I am still learning this VC++ stuff so I am new to a lot of things.

Thanks in advance

Mike@spb

I don't know much either about Unicode, but it seems that you should use the _T prefix for your string ...

You need to decide how to store your Unicode string. You can store it in UTF-16, or double byte. In this case, you can either use wide versions of the file writer methods, or write your strings out as raw data. (Your data length would be [wcslen(str) * sizeof(WCHAR)]). You can also convert your strings to MBCS, in which case you can use the A2W macro from ATL, or manually use WideCharToMultibyte(). Personally, I prefer writing the data out in UTF-8.

Obviously, you need to read your data back the same way you wrote it out.
    Henri Hein
    Principal Engineer, Propel
    Do not credit Propel with my views or opinions.

OK, now I'm confused. When I try to open the original file the first line looks like this in unicode:
    Code:
     [][][][][]<[]p[]r[]o[]f[]i[]l[]e[][]v[]e[]r[]s[]i[]o[]n[]=[]"[]4[]5[]8[]7[]5[]2[]"[]
    The "brackets" are actually squares when I read the file using wordpad or word.

When I do a test to try in duplicating this file it is written out as text. Here is what I have

Code:
    #deine _UNICODE
    CFile sTest;
    CString sfile = "C:\\test.prx";

sTest.Open(sfile, CFile::modeCreate|CFile::modeWrite);
    CString str = _T("\"is is some test\"");