Images Not Displayed On Server
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Images Not Displayed On Server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3

    Images Not Displayed On Server

    Ok maybe someone here can help me with this. I have a crystal report with both static images (images dragged onto the report in the designer) and images that are pulled and inserted into the report as BLOBs.

    The reports are displayed fine on my machine and on the test server we use for demo builds.

    When I place a build on our remote webserver the images don't display correctly. They don't show up as red x's, but only the outline of the image and the icon specifying that the object is an image is visible. Another developer is working with the project on his machine and is experiencing the same problem.

    What could be causing this? I don't think this is a permissions issue, as I have given both Everyone and IUSER full read privileges on the image directories of both problem machines.

    I am running Windows XP Pro and we are using Framework V1.1. The problem machines are running windows server 2003 and windows server 2000 respectively.

    Does anyone have any clue as to what the problem could be?

    Thanks,

    Ron

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    163
    Where the image files are stored? Have u tested the path is taken in a right way by ur server. (i.e, it may points to local path)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3
    Hmm, well the path shown when I right click and view properties of the image isn't anything that I can go check... it is an image that is dynamically generated by the report engine.

    Do you know of anyway I can specify the image locations as relative, as opposed to absolute? The test server that works fine is using a directory structure identical to the one I am using, however the other two machines are slightly different.

    If you know how to specify a path as relative please let me know, I really appreciate it.

    Ron

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    163
    I'm not sure is this the right way?

    For static images, store the image files in the folder where rpt files are located.

    Goto your report, select the image from that path. It'll work will accessing from the server.

    But for dynamic images? If it is dynamic, u must have specified the path somewhere in your code. right?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3
    No, the images are all being specified correctly... in fact, when I generate a PDF or Word document from the report the images display just fine.

    I am really curious as to what could be causing this?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    163
    Sorry, no idea

    Try to search businessobjects web site. U may have some info.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Azure Activities Information Page

Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center