Crystal Report - Page 7
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Page 7 of 39 FirstFirst ... 4567891017 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 105 of 580

Thread: Crystal Report

  1. #91
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    India, TamilNadu, Chennai.
    Posts
    269
    hi,

    When user click the link, change the link font color.

    after color changes, you can identify the link previously read or not read refer by color, then do process what you need.

    K.Babu
    Share on Google+

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    77
    Thanks for your reply...

    No.., the processing i was talking about is read the data in the section.

    This is like i have some data displayed on the report that is group by a field and has a subreport link, something like 'Details' link. Now i have to send the data to the subreport so that i can display the details. I can use subreport links options.. to link the data in the main report to and display the subreport, but this doesn't work for me. The only option for me is to identify the record on which he is intrested in. So is there any way to read that data.

    Eg: Record will be like this

    Cust Name: somename
    Age: xx

    View Details


    I need to show details for the cust name, i can't link custname from the main report to subreport, my reqirement doesn't permit that. Now when user clicks subreport i need to identify the cust name he is intrested in. If i can get that..... my problem is solved.
    I have been trying to get that.. and iam successful in getting custname in the first page using the 'index' parameter in DrillOnSubreport event. But from the second page the 'index' start from 1 again.

    so any ideas...

    Thanks once again..
    kiran.
    Share on Google+

  3. #93
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    India
    Posts
    42

    1 Master-Seveal detail tables

    Hi Babu,

    You indeed are doing a great job. Please help me solve this problem.

    I am using Crystal report 6.0. I have a master table (Employee Master) and several detail tables (EmployeeEducationDetails, EmployeeQualificationDetail, EmployeeTrainingDetail etc). Now I want to prepare a report where I pass the Employee ID as parameter and the report should display, in a Resume format, all Employee Details.

    Problem is : there is only one detail section on the report so how would I display data from all the different Detail tables (there are 4 such detail tables). I tried grouyping the data (By qualification etc) but that did not help. Will I have to use Sub-reports?
    Regards

    Debashish Chakrabarty
    SCJP

    ******************************
    Cool Site for SCJP aspirants at:
    http://www.geocities.com/wahjava
    ******************************
    Share on Google+

  4. #94
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Baltimore, Md USA
    Posts
    22
    Originally posted by K.Babu
    hi,

    create formulas names in crystal report design time.

    eg. EmpName
    EmpDesignation



    vbcode:

    cr.formulas(0) = "EmpName = 'Babu'"
    cr.formulas(1) = "EmpDesignation = 'Programmer'"

    if you had input variables use bellow code:

    cr.formulas(0) = "EmpName = '" & svEmpname & "'"

    K.Babu
    K.Babu,
    Your solution (using 'formula' fields) works for passing values to show in the crystal report. How do I pass values to represent the 'parameter' fields that the report is using in the selection criteria?
    I have a crystal report with 'parameter' fields for the date range that the report is using in the selection criteria. I want to bypass the default form for using input of the parameters, and use a custom form for the user to pass 'parameter' values to the report to be run.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks,
    SB
    Share on Google+

  5. #95
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    4
    cr_Report.Database.SetDataSource rs_Report

    Using that line returns the entire contents of the query table instead of
    the items in the query.

    If I assign the recordset to an array the array contains ONLY the items I
    requested but when I assign the same recordset to the crystal report it contains
    ALL the items in the table.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Share on Google+

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    7,726

    Lightbulb To all

    try giving some stars here....
    ...at present time, using mainly Net 4.0, Vs 2010



    Special thanks to Lothar "the Great" Haensler, Chris Eastwood , dr_Michael, ClearCode, Iouri and
    all the other wonderful people who made and make Codeguru a great place.
    Come back soon, you Gurus.
    Share on Google+

  7. #97
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    450
    Hi,

    I have a more CR rquestion not really relating to VB.
    Do you know what the maximum number of detail sections/sub-sections we are allowed in a report?
    I heard something about 622 sections... but not sure.

    TIA

    Cheers,
    Laurent
    Share on Google+

  8. #98
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Baltimore, Md USA
    Posts
    22

    SubReport Datasources

    Hi,
    In VB, how do you specify the datasource for a subreport in Crystal?

    For example, I use the following code to specify the datasource for the Crystal report:
    CrystalReport1.DataFiles(0) = strDataBaseName

    I need to specify the datasource (same database) for the subreport within this same Crystal report.

    Any help will be appreciated.

    Regards,
    SB
    Share on Google+

  9. #99
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    India, TamilNadu, Chennai.
    Posts
    269
    hi,

    Try this.

    CrystalReport1.DataFiles(0) = strDataBaseName
    CrystalReport1.DataFiles(1) = strDataBaseNameNext

    Babu
    Share on Google+

  10. #100
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Baltimore, Md USA
    Posts
    22

    SubReport Datasources

    Hi,
    I tried your code:

    CrystalReport1.DataFiles(0) = gDataBaseName
    CrystalReport1.DataFiles(1) = gDataBaseName 'It is the same DB as the Main Report

    I get the following error:

    ---------------------------
    Seagate Crystal Reports: Database Error
    ---------------------------
    Error opening file.

    File could not be found: "TransLog", at file location: "TransLog"
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------

    "TransLog" is the name of the table in the DB that the Subreport is using.

    Any other suggestions?

    Thanks
    SB
    Share on Google+

  11. #101
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    India, TamilNadu, Chennai.
    Posts
    269
    hi

    don't use same database once again, if you want to open more the one database, use 0 index for first database, use 1 index for second database.

    make sure your database path is correct

    if your database is placed in your exe directory you may use the following e.g. code

    gDataBaseNameSecond = App.path & "\Inventory.mdb"

    CrystalReport1.DataFiles(0) = gDataBaseNameFirst
    CrystalReport1.DataFiles(1) = gDataBaseNameSecond
    Please avoid sending emails to my personal mail:
    write your doubts as thread in Codeguru
    Crystal Reports Forum
    .

    This will help all people having similar matters, and will let people who know solutions on the specific topic
    share their knowledge.

    Visit my company web site (Qmax Test Equipments Private Limited)

    Yours friendly,
    K.Babu
    Share on Google+

  12. #102
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Baltimore, Md USA
    Posts
    22

    SubReport Datasources

    Hi Babu,
    I tried your suggestion and I still get the same error. The report will work on my machine as the db location is the same as when I set up the report / subreport in Crystal.

    I wanted to change the location at run time, as I do for my other reports using app.path. That way I do not need to know where the db is on the user's pc.

    I found this on Crystal's web site, but have not been able to work through it yet.

    http://support.crystaldecisions.com/...s/c2002360.asp

    I was hoping there was an easier way to do it.

    Thanks,
    SB
    Share on Google+

  13. #103
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    India, TamilNadu, Chennai.
    Posts
    269
    hi,

    You may also test sub report working alone, without any main reports.

    For testing.
    Please avoid sending emails to my personal mail:
    write your doubts as thread in Codeguru
    Crystal Reports Forum
    .

    This will help all people having similar matters, and will let people who know solutions on the specific topic
    share their knowledge.

    Visit my company web site (Qmax Test Equipments Private Limited)

    Yours friendly,
    K.Babu
    Share on Google+

  14. #104
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    India, TamilNadu, Chennai.
    Posts
    269

    Crystal Report

    Dear All,

    Some people mailed at my personal mail, and they asked me to send my photo, so i upload my photo at codeguru web site with the size of 50 x 50 pxls.

    Yours Babu
    Please avoid sending emails to my personal mail:
    write your doubts as thread in Codeguru
    Crystal Reports Forum
    .

    This will help all people having similar matters, and will let people who know solutions on the specific topic
    share their knowledge.

    Visit my company web site (Qmax Test Equipments Private Limited)

    Yours friendly,
    K.Babu
    Share on Google+

  15. #105
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    India
    Posts
    42

    Include name in reply, please!

    Hi Babu,
    That's a great job done. Just an unsolicited advice, while posting reply please do address the answer to the member who posted it like : Dear debuchakrabarty, if I had posted it. Since the thread is collosal now, it would let the member locate his answer easily. More easy would be to reply to the particular post in which case s/he gets to know about it thru email.


    Hats off to you!
    Regards

    Debashish Chakrabarty
    SCJP

    ******************************
    Cool Site for SCJP aspirants at:
    http://www.geocities.com/wahjava
    ******************************
    Share on Google+

Page 7 of 39 FirstFirst ... 4567891017 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center