Crystal Report - Page 3
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Page 3 of 39 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 580

Thread: Crystal Report

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    India, TamilNadu, Chennai.
    Posts
    269

    Re: Crystal Report

    hi,

    Try use DoEvents statement, Don't use timer controls for the cause.

    yours,
    Babu


    MailID: k_babs@hotmail.com
    Please avoid sending emails to my personal mail:
    write your doubts as thread in Codeguru
    Crystal Reports Forum
    .

    This will help all people having similar matters, and will let people who know solutions on the specific topic
    share their knowledge.

    Visit my company web site (Qmax Test Equipments Private Limited)

    Yours friendly,
    K.Babu
    Share on Google+

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    India, TamilNadu, Chennai.
    Posts
    269

    Re: DiscardSavedData

    hi,

    i can't get your actual requirement, can you send your testing code.

    yours,
    Babu

    MailID: k_babs@hotmail.com
    Please avoid sending emails to my personal mail:
    write your doubts as thread in Codeguru
    Crystal Reports Forum
    .

    This will help all people having similar matters, and will let people who know solutions on the specific topic
    share their knowledge.

    Visit my company web site (Qmax Test Equipments Private Limited)

    Yours friendly,
    K.Babu
    Share on Google+

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal Canada
    Posts
    1,080

    Re: DiscardSavedData

    Som files might be in Read only mode.. Check for that.

    Nicolas Bohemier
    ______________

    Un sourire ne coûte rien, mais il rapporte beaucoup; il enrichit celui qui le reçoit sans appauvrir celui qui le donne.

    Frank Irving Fletcher

    Nicolas Bohemier
    Share on Google+

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    186

    Re: Crystal Report

    Hi Babu

    That was just a typing error on my side. The Formulas is correct and working.

    If the database is not password protected then the reports work fine. It's only when the database is password protected and I try to print the report that I get the error.


    Bezzie
    Share on Google+

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    2

    Recordset match to Crystal Report

    I want to disply the recordset made from VB application to crystal report. How can I do it?

    Share on Google+

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    11

    Re: Crystal Report

    It was really a major relief to see someone helping out in Crystal Reports (cr). Otherwise, hardly anyone knows cr properly in the industry today. The help that cr gives alongwith the software is also not elaborate enough.

    I am right now developing an accounts package using VB6 as frontend, Access as backend and Crystal Report 8.5 Report Designer Component.

    The points for clarification are as below:-
    (1) If i am putting a password in my access database, and then designing some reports using 'Report Designer Component', it gives the following error when I am using ADO connection string to connect to the database and clicking on Test Connection - "Test Connection failed because of an error in intializing provider. Cannot start your application. The workgroup information file is missing or opened exclusively by another user". The Access database was not open when doing this. Provider name and other details that i am giving are all correct. Any solutions for this? Or is it that, i cannot set a password for Access database if i want reports in cr?

    (2) Since the software is going to be a multiuser application, do you forsee any problem while installation. One problem i found out was setting the path for reports. I am using .dsr files. What i am doing is setting the location as under :
    Report.Database.Table(1).Name = "xzy" ' table name which matches with actual design.
    Report.Database.Table(1).Location= App.Path & "\database.mdb"
    Are there any other alternatives to this? If am am hard coding the query itself in the RDC, will the above codes run? What should i write as table name then, since the query user multiple joins? Also what to do in case if i am giving password for my database.

    (3) Is cr really powerful than Data Report of VB? Many people have told me that there are several problems like setting the paper size etc. in Data Report. Apart from that are there any other problems?

    Thanking you.

    Share on Google+

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    11

    Many Problems in Crystal Reports

    It was really a major relief to see someone helping out in Crystal Reports (cr). Otherwise, hardly anyone knows cr properly in the industry today. The help that cr gives alongwith the software is also not elaborate enough.

    I am right now developing an accounts package using VB6 as frontend, Access as backend and Crystal Report 8.5 Report Designer Component.

    The points for clarification are as below:-
    (1) If i am putting a password in my access database, and then designing some reports using 'Report Designer Component', it gives the following error when I am using ADO connection string to connect to the database and clicking on Test Connection - "Test Connection failed because of an error in intializing provider. Cannot start your application. The workgroup information file is missing or opened exclusively by another user". The Access database was not open when doing this. Provider name and other details that i am giving are all correct. Any solutions for this? Or is it that, i cannot set a password for Access database if i want reports in cr?

    (2) Since the software is going to be a multiuser application, do you forsee any problem while installation. One problem i found out was setting the path for reports. I am using .dsr files. What i am doing is setting the location as under :
    Report.Database.Table(1).Name = "xzy" ' table name which matches with actual design.
    Report.Database.Table(1).Location= App.Path & "\database.mdb"
    Are there any other alternatives to this? If am am hard coding the query itself in the RDC, will the above codes run? What should i write as table name then, since the query user multiple joins? Also what to do in case if i am giving password for my database.

    (3) Is cr really powerful than Data Report of VB? Many people have told me that there are several problems like setting the paper size etc. in Data Report. Apart from that are there any other problems?

    Thanking you.


    Share on Google+

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    7,726

    Great: you should write atricle

    If you have time and will, you should write an article about Crystal Report usage: these are valuable informations for all of us. Mail to Brad Jones (the moderator), to know how to do.

    Special thanks to Lothar "the Great" Haensler, Tom Archer, Chris Eastwood, TCartwright, Bruno Paris, Dr_Michael
    and all the other wonderful people who made and make Codeguru a great place.
    Come back soon, you Gurus.

    The Rater
    ...at present time, using mainly Net 4.0, Vs 2010



    Special thanks to Lothar "the Great" Haensler, Chris Eastwood , dr_Michael, ClearCode, Iouri and
    all the other wonderful people who made and make Codeguru a great place.
    Come back soon, you Gurus.
    Share on Google+

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    5

    Re: DiscardSavedData

    Sorry but there are no Read only files.
    Thanck you anyway

    Share on Google+

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    5

    Re: DiscardSavedData

    My only code is:

    private Sub Report_Initialize()
    Report1.DiscardSavedData
    End Sub



    where Report1 is my report.
    For testing i am introducing data into my form, refreshing my databese and printing my report.
    The resoult: the data are not chenged.

    I am begining to belive that it is not a programing error because Discard Saved Data When Loading Report doesn't stay check.

    Share on Google+

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2

    Re: Crystal Report

    Thanks! The DoEvents keyword really did the trick! =D

    I have one last question. For example, I have this querystring:

    SELECT * from TABLE where UserID = ' " & userid & " '


    The question is how do you place the value of ' " & userid & " ' in the report?

    Thanks!

    Share on Google+

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    India, TamilNadu, Chennai.
    Posts
    269

    Re: Recordset match to Crystal Report

    hi,

    Set your recordset to DataSource Property in crystal report control.

    yours,
    Babu

    MailID: k_babs@hotmail.com
    Please avoid sending emails to my personal mail:
    write your doubts as thread in Codeguru
    Crystal Reports Forum
    .

    This will help all people having similar matters, and will let people who know solutions on the specific topic
    share their knowledge.

    Visit my company web site (Qmax Test Equipments Private Limited)

    Yours friendly,
    K.Babu
    Share on Google+

  13. #43
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    India, TamilNadu, Chennai.
    Posts
    269

    Re: Crystal Report

    hi,

    Pass this 'userid' (variable) value to crystal report formula, using cr.formulas(0) property of crystal report control.


    yours,
    Babu

    MailID: k_babs@hotmail.com
    Please avoid sending emails to my personal mail:
    write your doubts as thread in Codeguru
    Crystal Reports Forum
    .

    This will help all people having similar matters, and will let people who know solutions on the specific topic
    share their knowledge.

    Visit my company web site (Qmax Test Equipments Private Limited)

    Yours friendly,
    K.Babu
    Share on Google+

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    India, TamilNadu, Chennai.
    Posts
    269

    Re: DiscardSavedData

    DiscardSavedData Property

    If data is saved with the specified report, setting this property to 1 (True) discards the data.

    cr.DiscardSavedData = True
    (or)
    cr.DiscardSavedData = 1

    Discards the data saved with the specified report.

    Thanks.

    MailID: k_babs@hotmail.com
    Please avoid sending emails to my personal mail:
    write your doubts as thread in Codeguru
    Crystal Reports Forum
    .

    This will help all people having similar matters, and will let people who know solutions on the specific topic
    share their knowledge.

    Visit my company web site (Qmax Test Equipments Private Limited)

    Yours friendly,
    K.Babu
    Share on Google+

  15. #45
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    India, TamilNadu, Chennai.
    Posts
    269

    Re: Crystal Report

    hi,

    (1) if password set unable open database in crystal report.

    Create new database, set the password, use the database in your project with crystal report.

    Solution:
    crCommon.LogonInfo(0)= "dsn=;uid=;pwd=MyPassword;dsq="
    crCommon.DataFiles(0) = "C:\My Document\db.mdb"

    feedback me, we will solve the next problem.

    yours,
    Babu

    MailID: k_babs@hotmail.com
    Please avoid sending emails to my personal mail:
    write your doubts as thread in Codeguru
    Crystal Reports Forum
    .

    This will help all people having similar matters, and will let people who know solutions on the specific topic
    share their knowledge.

    Visit my company web site (Qmax Test Equipments Private Limited)

    Yours friendly,
    K.Babu
    Share on Google+

Page 3 of 39 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Azure Activities Information Page

Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center