CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

STL and pointer/reference question

Hi all,

Im rather new to C++ (I´m changing from Java to C++), so please bear with me.
    I have a question about STL and returning a vector array
    from a static method.

How do I do it correctly, so that the function contructs
    a vector that can be returned to the caller. I know if I
    create a local object from a class and return it`s reference, it will point to null (if I´m rigth) after the
    function call. So the object should be created with the new
    operator. But how do I do it with template call??
    I just get errors when I try to compile.

It should go something like this(please, do correct my syntax, pointers and references are used very wrong, I think):

static &vector<MyClass> loadFromFile()
    {
    vector<MyClass> *data = NULL;
    try
    {
    // load from file and populate the vector
    }
    catch(...)
    { }

return &data;
    }

help apprecitaed!

-mark

ps. could somebody tell me where to fing a decent
    standard C++ API (yes, I`m migrating from Java to C++). All I have found are rather hard to use / read or incomplete.

Thank you.

One solution is to encapsulate the STL container within a structure. Create the object on the heap and pass its pointer.

Kuphryn

Re: STL and pointer/reference question

Originally posted by halmark6Z
    How do I do it correctly, so that the function contructs
    a vector that can be returned to the caller.
    A vector has proper copy semantics, so there is no need to be using references or pointers.
    Code:
    #include <vector>
    class MyClass
    {
    };

static std::vector<MyClass> loadFromFile(); // if you really need a static function

std::vector<MyClass> loadFromFile()
    {
       std::vector<MyClass> data;
       try
      {
            // load from file and populate the vector
      }
      catch(...) 
      { }
      return data;
    }