How to launch DOS program?
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to launch DOS program?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    lake of fire and brimstone
    Posts
    1,617

    How to launch DOS program?

    Hello all, I would like to know if and how it is possible to launch a DOS program from my SDI program running in Windows 2000. The program is called allowio.exe and in DOS prompt the command to run it properly is:

    allowio test.bat /a

    Any thoughts on what command to use and how to include the parameters ("test.bat /a")?
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    2,147
    There are a variety of methods available.

    You could simply make a system call:

    system("allowio test.bat /a");

    ...although this method is probably not PC these days.

    There's the spawn functions, with a likely candidate for your needs being:

    _spawnlp( _P_WAIT, "allowio", "allowio", "test.bat", "/a", NULL );


    There are others too, _exec, ShellExecute. I'm sure there are more...

    Hope this helps,

    - Nigel

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,329
    What if you have a dos program and you want to launch a Windows program.

    Is there a switch the you can set on the compiler to lauch the program from command.com????

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    KY, USA
    Posts
    18,652
    Quote Originally Posted by Simon666
    Hello all, I would like to know if and how it is possible to launch a DOS program from my SDI program running in Windows 2000. The program is called allowio.exe and in DOS prompt the command to run it properly is:

    allowio test.bat /a

    Any thoughts on what command to use and how to include the parameters ("test.bat /a")?
    Take a look at the following FAQ...
    Ciao, Andreas

    "Software is like sex, it's better when it's free." - Linus Torvalds


    Article(s): Allocators (STL) Function Objects (STL)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    KY, USA
    Posts
    18,652
    Quote Originally Posted by ADSOFT
    What if you have a dos program and you want to launch a Windows program.
    Well...what operating system? If it is 16-bit, I would go with 'WinExec()'...otherwise use one of the methods described in the FAQ I posted in my previous reply...
    Ciao, Andreas

    "Software is like sex, it's better when it's free." - Linus Torvalds


    Article(s): Allocators (STL) Function Objects (STL)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,329
    The operationg system is dos, we are basically running it under 95/98/XP out of a dos box right now.


    We want to shell out to some window app though.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    lake of fire and brimstone
    Posts
    1,617
    Okay, it works with:

    _spawnlp( _P_WAIT, "allowio", "allowio", "test.bat", "/a", NULL );

    but I have the problem it blocks my application till I close the launched DOS application down, while both are supposed to run simultaneously. Anyone knows how to launch a DOS program as a seperate thread?
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    432
    How about calling it asynchronously!! Pass the first parameter as _P_NOWAIT or _P_NOWAITO, and check MSDN for description!!
    Say no to supplying ready made code for homework/work assignments!!

    Please rate this post!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    lake of fire and brimstone
    Posts
    1,617
    Nevermind my stupidity, I found it out already. _P_NOWAIT indeed. MSDN doesn't really describe _P_NOWAIT with _spawnlp by the way.
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞
    ۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞۞

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    432
    yeah, sorry about that. The MSDN indeed is missing the descriptions.
    Say no to supplying ready made code for homework/work assignments!!

    Please rate this post!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center