Hi ... I'm a Newbie, I need help in WinAPI
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Hi ... I'm a Newbie, I need help in WinAPI

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    7

    Question Hi ... I'm a Newbie, I need help in WinAPI

    dear all,

    hi everybody , my name is Ferry (funny name huh? ).
    i'm from Jakarta, Indonesia.
    i need a help on using WinAPI.

    how can i get a tutorial for using winapi?
    is there anyone has that tutorial?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    6,332
    Go to allapi.net and get their free api guide and viewer
    Please remember to rate the posts and threads that you find useful.
    How can something be both new and improved at the same time?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    7
    thanks for your suggestion, WizBang, and nice to meet you.

    yes, i'm already visit that site, but i didn't found what i'm looking for.

    i need more explanation about api, like: how it work?

    for example, to make a control like textbox with event mouse hover, needs a sequence api instructions, and i want to know how to determine that sequence, why we use those api not the other api.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    6,332
    If I understand your questions correctly, I would say that it comes with experience. Typically, the more you learn, the more solutions you find for any given task. You may wish to take a look at several examples on PlanetSourceCode.com to become familiar with various techniques.
    Please remember to rate the posts and threads that you find useful.
    How can something be both new and improved at the same time?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    7
    thank's again WizBang.

    That's a great site.

    But i still confuse, where i should start to learn those api?

    And i've got something else to ask.

    How can i make an user control with data source, data field, data member properties like one on the textbox control?

    And another question, how to make a property like List property on ComboBox control, i mean, we can fill the item on the property explorer.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    7,726
    You should start reading.
    For example:
    ActiveX:
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...components.asp

    Building Ocx:
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...lecontrols.asp

    and specifically on property:
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...properties.asp

    ...and so on...

    Abou api: start Api-Guide and take a look at infos and examples...
    ...at present time, using mainly Net 4.0, Vs 2010



    Special thanks to Lothar "the Great" Haensler, Chris Eastwood , dr_Michael, ClearCode, Iouri and
    all the other wonderful people who made and make Codeguru a great place.
    Come back soon, you Gurus.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    6,332
    ...And another question, how to make a property like List property on ComboBox control, i mean, we can fill the item on the property explorer.
    As far as I have seen, there is no way to do this with a vb UserControl However, you can use Property Pages to make it easier to set more complex properties.
    Please remember to rate the posts and threads that you find useful.
    How can something be both new and improved at the same time?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    7
    hey, long time no see ...

    thanks a lot to WizBang and Cimperiali.

    as usual, i have another question:
    - how can i get all computer name that connected to me?
    - how can i know that computer has an instance of sql server or not?

    thanks.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    .NET2.0 / VS2005 Developer
    Posts
    7,104
    Originally posted by LeonX
    hey, long time no see ...

    thanks a lot to WizBang and Cimperiali.

    as usual, i have another question:
    - how can i get all computer name that connected to me?
    - how can i know that computer has an instance of sql server or not?

    thanks.
    scan the range of ip addresses local to you, and attempt to connect to port 1433.. that's sql server
    "it's a fax from your dog, Mr Dansworth. It looks like your cat" - Gary Larson...DW1: Data Walkthroughs 1.1...DW2: Data Walkthroughs 2.0...DDS: The DataSet Designer Surface...ANO: ADO.NET2 Orientation...DAN: Deeper ADO.NET...DNU...PQ

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Baby Land
    Posts
    646
    to enumerate sql servers use NetServerEnum API function (it can be use to enumerate other type of servers as well), try this link:

    http://www.codeproject.com/useritems/listsqlservers.asp

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    7

    have another questions

    thanks to cjard and Luthv.

    i have another questions again.
    - how we can get computer id#?
    - how we can get time from server?
    thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Azure Activities Information Page

Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center