Doing CTRL-ALT-DEL
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Doing CTRL-ALT-DEL

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    27

    Question Doing CTRL-ALT-DEL

    Hi guys,

    Within Visual Basic, how do I send "CTRL-ALT-DEL"? All I want to do is bring up the Windows Security box, but SendKeys doesn't permit the combination...

    Any code appreciated!

    Best wishes,

    Mark

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    .NET2.0 / VS2005 Developer
    Posts
    7,104

    Re: Doing CTRL-ALT-DEL

    you cant. ctrl+alt+del is protected for reasons of security.
    "it's a fax from your dog, Mr Dansworth. It looks like your cat" - Gary Larson...DW1: Data Walkthroughs 1.1...DW2: Data Walkthroughs 2.0...DDS: The DataSet Designer Surface...ANO: ADO.NET2 Orientation...DAN: Deeper ADO.NET...DNU...PQ

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    .NET2.0 / VS2005 Developer
    Posts
    7,104

    Re: Doing CTRL-ALT-DEL

    actually.. that said, a program called VNC that is used to operate a computer remotely, over a network, has a menu option "Send CTRL ALT DEL" which causes the remote machine to display the options box. i think they may have used a low level keyboard hook of some kind though..
    "it's a fax from your dog, Mr Dansworth. It looks like your cat" - Gary Larson...DW1: Data Walkthroughs 1.1...DW2: Data Walkthroughs 2.0...DDS: The DataSet Designer Surface...ANO: ADO.NET2 Orientation...DAN: Deeper ADO.NET...DNU...PQ

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    .NET2.0 / VS2005 Developer
    Posts
    7,104

    Re: Doing CTRL-ALT-DEL

    did a bit of research and it seems that ctrl+alt+delete is actually a special combination that, though some specific wiring in the keyboard, causes an interrupt to be generated on the cpu with a specific code. windows handles this interrupt and shows the security screen. how you would emulate this interrupt yourself, i do not know. might be good if you told us WHY you want to do this
    "it's a fax from your dog, Mr Dansworth. It looks like your cat" - Gary Larson...DW1: Data Walkthroughs 1.1...DW2: Data Walkthroughs 2.0...DDS: The DataSet Designer Surface...ANO: ADO.NET2 Orientation...DAN: Deeper ADO.NET...DNU...PQ

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    27

    Re: Doing CTRL-ALT-DEL

    Terminal Services doesn't allow me to do a CTRL-ALT-DEL 'across the wire'. The key combination activates the local terminal's security box.

    I've tried fiddling with the settings of terminal services client but (thus far) to no avail. Of course, I might be missing something horribly basic - let me know if I am!

    If there was an icon on the remote server's desktop that I run which "sends" CTRL-ALT-DEL that would be very useful!

    Mark

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    27

    Re: Doing CTRL-ALT-DEL

    Although, come to think of it, any program doesn't have to "send" CTRL-ALT-DEL, it merely has to invoke the "Windows Security" box. If it is known how to invoke that box, who cares about CTRL-ALT-DEL!

    Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Azure Activities Information Page

Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center