CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Thread: C++ MFC MSChart

Hybrid View

C++ MFC MSChart

I am a beginner in C++.
    I have tried to implement a chart from a MFC dialog box by using MSChart.
    I didn't find any tutorial to learn how to link data with a MSChart and how to handle basic implementation.
    Is it because MSChart is only used in VB?

Thanks for any help

Kropcheck...

Re: C++ MFC MSChart

Since MSChart is an ActiveX control, it can be used with any language that speaks COM, including C++. Take a look at this article . It should help get you started.
    Gort...Klaatu, Barada Nikto!

Thanks for this quick reply, it is always nice to get support by advance user.

I have tried this tutorial (even before sending my first mail) which seems fairly simple but nevertheless I had a problem to access to the following function:

m_Chart.SetChartData(saRet.Detach());

"SetChartData" doesn't belong to the CChart class when "Refresh" is perfectly recognised.

with -> class CChart : public CWnd
    -> CChart m_Chart;

I went through all the class members/functions of m_Chart but none looks like "SetChartData" or BindData. There is probably more than one way to link data with the chart. I am not used to too much advance variable type but I am opened to any possibilities.

Kropchek

PS: By the way, the problem could come from the version of MSChart: Microsoft Chart 6.0 (SP4) OLEDB with Microsoft Visual Studio C++.NET 2002.

Have you followed the steps to add the chart object to your dialog? The object should be of type CMSChart, not CWnd.
    Gort...Klaatu, Barada Nikto!

I think I did a stupid mistake when I used the "Variable Wizard", by mistake I modified the "Variable type". So by default the Wizard created a CWnd type class instead of CMSChart.

I hope now everything will go OK.
    More news in a few minutes.

Thanks for your patience.