CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    74

    how to use params in vb data report command

    Hi,

    i need your urgent help!
    i try to run my visual basic data report via code because i have 3 parameters that are used in the SQL query, and i don't know how to send them to the data report command query!.

    do you know how do define the sql statement in Access with parameters ? do you know how do params are transferred to this sql statement from the code ? this sql statement should be set in visual basic data report command.

    See my sql query:
    Code:
    "SELECT People.Id, People.Name, C_People.Kod_Course, Course.Name, C_People.Course_Date From C_People, People, Course WHERE C_People.OvNum = People.OvNum AND C_People.Kod_Course = " & Kod_Crs & "AND C_People.Course_Date = " & FromD_Crs & "AND C_People.LastDt = " & UpTD_Crs
    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    576

    Re: how to use params in vb data report command

    In Access question mark is used for parameters, e.g.

    Code:
    SELECT
       People.Id, People.Name, C_People.Kod_Course, Course.Name, 
       C_People.Course_Date From C_People, People, Course 
    WHERE C_People.OvNum = People.OvNum AND 
       C_People.Kod_Course = ? AND C_People.Course_Date = ? AND 
       C_People.LastDt = ?
    You can then add the parameters to the command object in VB and specify the values for each parameter as required.

    The parameters in the command object can have any name, e.g. @p1, @p2,@p3 or @Course, @Date, @LastDt or whatever you like.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    74

    Re: how to use params in vb data report command

    Hi,

    the code is in VB, here is a sample of it - it retrieve some data into params (Kod_Crs, FromD_Crs,UpTD_Crs), but then how can i relate these params to the access params in the data report command ?

    Code:
    Private Sub CmdSearch_Click()
    
    ' Save params for the report query
    Dim Name_Crs As String
    Dim FromD_Crs As Date
    Dim UpTD_Crs As Date
    Dim sql1 As String
    Dim sql2 As String
    Dim rsCrs As New Recordset
    Dim rsCPeople As New ADODB.Recordset
    
    Name_Crs = DataCombo1.Text
    
    sql1 = "select Kod from Course where Name='" & Name_Crs & "';"
    rsCrs.Open sql1, cn, adOpenForwardOnly, adLockReadOnly
    Kod_Crs = rsCrs.Fields("Kod").Value
    FromD_Crs = FromDate.Value
    UpTD_Crs = UpToDate.Value
    
    ...
    
    end sub
    thanks!
    Last edited by Alif; October 27th, 2005 at 08:00 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    576

    Re: how to use params in vb data report command


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    74

    Re: how to use params in vb data report command

    hi,

    it seems a vey good solution for me, thanks! I will try it later on.
    shoudl I use in the code params the '@' before the parameters ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    576

    Re: how to use params in vb data report command

    No I don't think @ is necessary for parameters in Access, I always use it though so that I can have the same parameter names for SQL Server (my app can run with either a SQL Server or an Access DB).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  





Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Featured