CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    56

    listview enter record

    anyone knows if you can enter records into listview meaning if i have 3 columns

    | Tax Code | Tax Amount | (Hidden ID Field)

    i wan to be able to have unlimited rows and that records can be entered and retrieve when needed.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    47

    Re: listview enter record

    hyee


    With frm.list (u wana to enter)AudioCategories
    For i = 0 To .ListCount - 1
    cmbCategory.AddItem (.List(i))
    cmbCategory.ItemData(cmbCategory.NewIndex) = .ItemData(i)

    SO u can enter the items in the list like this using this example
    faiza

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    56

    Re: listview enter record

    Quote Originally Posted by faiza046
    hyee


    With frm.list (u wana to enter)AudioCategories
    For i = 0 To .ListCount - 1
    cmbCategory.AddItem (.List(i))
    cmbCategory.ItemData(cmbCategory.NewIndex) = .ItemData(i)

    SO u can enter the items in the list like this using this example
    sorry i dont really understand can you explain abit more?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    237

    Re: listview enter record

    Quote Originally Posted by faiza046
    hyee


    With frm.list (u wana to enter)AudioCategories
    For i = 0 To .ListCount - 1
    cmbCategory.AddItem (.List(i))
    cmbCategory.ItemData(cmbCategory.NewIndex) = .ItemData(i)

    SO u can enter the items in the list like this using this example
    Faiza !! Toracle is talking about Listview and columns and you are telling abt List control, which does not supports any columns type things..

    and Toracle,please tell us some more regarding your logic, so that we can give you some solution.

    regards!
    I'M BACK AGAIN !!
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    enjoy the VB !
    If any post helps you, please rate that.
    Always try to findout the Solutions, instead just discussing the problem and its scope!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    56

    Re: listview enter record

    Quote Originally Posted by rahul.kul
    Faiza !! Toracle is talking about Listview and columns and you are telling abt List control, which does not supports any columns type things..

    and Toracle,please tell us some more regarding your logic, so that we can give you some solution.

    regards!
    thanks for replying.. i believe wad i wan is lk an open recordset whereby i can juz do an update anytime. eh is this the kind of logic you want?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Kashmir, India
    Posts
    6,808

    Re: listview enter record

    Quote Originally Posted by Toracle
    anyone knows if you can enter records into listview meaning if i have 3 columns

    | Tax Code | Tax Amount | (Hidden ID Field)

    i wan to be able to have unlimited rows and that records can be entered and retrieve when needed.
    I think you could use a DataGrid control here. It has all the functionality that you need. In Projeck menu select Components and check the Microsoft DataGrid control 6.0 and a new control will appear in your toolbox.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    237

    Re: listview enter record

    Hi

    Why don't u try mshFlexigrid, as you wann edit anything... anytime..!

    as Listview it a Tabular data represter but not easier to Edit values from the ListItems.
    I'M BACK AGAIN !!
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    enjoy the VB !
    If any post helps you, please rate that.
    Always try to findout the Solutions, instead just discussing the problem and its scope!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    56

    Re: listview enter record

    Quote Originally Posted by rahul.kul
    Hi

    Why don't u try mshFlexigrid, as you wann edit anything... anytime..!

    as Listview it a Tabular data represter but not easier to Edit values from the ListItems.

    where do i get the mshFlexigrid??

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Kashmir, India
    Posts
    6,808

    Re: listview enter record

    Quote Originally Posted by Toracle
    where do i get the mshFlexigrid??
    In Project-->Components menu you can add additional/third party controls to your project.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    56

    Re: listview enter record

    Quote Originally Posted by Shuja Ali
    In Project-->Components menu you can add additional/third party controls to your project.
    i'm using DataGrid now .. seems to be working fine

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    237

    Re: listview enter record

    Its good !
    I'M BACK AGAIN !!
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    enjoy the VB !
    If any post helps you, please rate that.
    Always try to findout the Solutions, instead just discussing the problem and its scope!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  





Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Featured