[RESOLVED] Get Spacific text from window within a 3rd party program - Page 2
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 22 of 22

Thread: [RESOLVED] Get Spacific text from window within a 3rd party program

  1. #16
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    49

    Re: Get Spacific text from window within a 3rd party program

    Hi Gremmy,

    Yea I was kinda suprised when it came to life mysefl.

    What your getting is the version on my laptop with only very very minor differences with what I posted. I think the only difference is with the call Get_New_Text. call.

    But eaither way, I am sure you can see some other things I am trying to do and testing ideas.

    Here is the program, none the less.

    You will need the database to actually run the program, but its 200k too big for the file limit

    Even zipped

    Let me know and we can try some other alternative.
    Last edited by intercepter; January 26th, 2006 at 01:10 AM.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    JHB South Africa
    Posts
    3,772

    Re: Get Spacific text from window within a 3rd party program

    I dont think its nesasary.. I'm looking to fixup the code a little, and put hiongs in the right palces... will post when sorted...

    Gremmy
    Articles VB6 : Break the 2G limit - Animation 1, 2 VB.NET : 2005/8 : Moving Images , Animation 1 , 2 , 3 , User Controls
    WPF Articles : 3D Animation 1 , 2 , 3
    Code snips: VB6 Hex Edit, IP Chat, Copy Prot., Crop, Zoom : .NET IP Chat (V4), Adv. ContextMenus, click Hotspot, Scroll Controls
    Find me in ASP.NET., VB6., VB.NET , Writing Articles, My Genealogy, Forum
    All VS.NET: posts refer to VS.NET 2008 (Pro) unless otherwise stated.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    49

    Re: Get Spacific text from window within a 3rd party program

    I posted the project but its gone now? Did you get it Gremmy?

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    JHB South Africa
    Posts
    3,772

    Re: Get Spacific text from window within a 3rd party program

    Quote Originally Posted by intercepter
    I posted the project but its gone now? Did you get it Gremmy?
    Yep.. I got It..

    Sorry it took me so long to reply.. We've been doing some renovations at home.. ( Painting, Laying new Concreate, Cutting down old Grape vines, Fixing Extractor fans..) so i've been to tired till now to look at the code..

    Just a few Things.....

    I'm not able to run test the app because :
    1) I dont have M$ DAO 3.6 .. Too lazzy to find and download.. (I use Ado mostly)
    2) I dont have Paltalk.. Again too lazzy to download, setup and register/Login..

    I've added a button to FrmMain, This will kickstart the Bot, and lock it on one Rich text box.. ( If you close and restart Paltalk or the chat window. YOU will HAVE to press this button again to relock on the new RTB..)

    I've changed the code in Timer1 to facilitate the new command button..

    I haven't changed any of the rest of it.. so i'm only uploading the new FrmMain..( Keep a backup copy of your original.. JIC..)

    Let me know how it goes...

    Gremmy...
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Articles VB6 : Break the 2G limit - Animation 1, 2 VB.NET : 2005/8 : Moving Images , Animation 1 , 2 , 3 , User Controls
    WPF Articles : 3D Animation 1 , 2 , 3
    Code snips: VB6 Hex Edit, IP Chat, Copy Prot., Crop, Zoom : .NET IP Chat (V4), Adv. ContextMenus, click Hotspot, Scroll Controls
    Find me in ASP.NET., VB6., VB.NET , Writing Articles, My Genealogy, Forum
    All VS.NET: posts refer to VS.NET 2008 (Pro) unless otherwise stated.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    49

    Smile Re: Get Spacific text from window within a 3rd party program

    Hi Gremmy,

    Here is the final project. Let me know what else I might need to add or change. It should all be ado code.

    The question is, what am I missing?

    Intercepter
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    JHB South Africa
    Posts
    3,772

    Re: Get Spacific text from window within a 3rd party program

    Quote Originally Posted by intercepter
    Hi Gremmy,

    Here is the final project. Let me know what else I might need to add or change. It should all be ado code.

    The question is, what am I missing?

    Intercepter
    I like your Code.. just a few things.. use Tab spacing in your code
    Code:
    Select Case asxToolbar2.ButtonChecked(ButtonIndex)
    Case Is = asxToolbar2.ButtonChecked(1) = True
    RichTextBox3.SelFontSize = 8
    Case Is = asxToolbar2.ButtonChecked(2) = True
    RichTextBox3.SelFontSize = 10
    Case Is = asxToolbar2.ButtonChecked(3) = True
    RichTextBox3.SelFontSize = 12
    End Select
    looks ok but formating it
    Code:
    Select Case asxToolbar2.ButtonChecked(ButtonIndex)
        Case Is = asxToolbar2.ButtonChecked(1) = True
            RichTextBox3.SelFontSize = 8
        Case Is = asxToolbar2.ButtonChecked(2) = True
            RichTextBox3.SelFontSize = 10
        Case Is = asxToolbar2.ButtonChecked(3) = True
            RichTextBox3.SelFontSize = 12
    End Select
    makes it easier for you to keep track... If for eg. you left out End Select, it would be very dificult to notice...

    You have a few pieces of unused code still stuck in the project, When compiling this is still added and just Bloats and slows your app...
    Code:
    (IN adoPrimaryRS_WillChangeRecord)
    Select Case adReason
      Case adRsnAddNew
      Case adRsnClose
      Case adRsnDelete
      Case adRsnFirstChange
      Case adRsnMove
      Case adRsnRequery
      Case adRsnResynch
      Case adRsnUndoAddNew
      Case adRsnUndoDelete
      Case adRsnUndoUpdate
      Case adRsnUpdate
    End Select
    
    Private Function Get_Last_Text(New_Text As String) As String         (This sub Is never called.)
    A feture you might consiider adding is Random Quotes... Most Religious people (Myself included) belive more in Accidental, or Randomly found Bible verses... (My wife opens the bible at random every morning and we read a few verses.). Adding this will definately give value to its use..

    Other than these The coding looks good.. (Unfortunatly i cannot Run it as I'm missing the DB...)

    but it's good work..

    keep it up..

    Gremmy....
    Articles VB6 : Break the 2G limit - Animation 1, 2 VB.NET : 2005/8 : Moving Images , Animation 1 , 2 , 3 , User Controls
    WPF Articles : 3D Animation 1 , 2 , 3
    Code snips: VB6 Hex Edit, IP Chat, Copy Prot., Crop, Zoom : .NET IP Chat (V4), Adv. ContextMenus, click Hotspot, Scroll Controls
    Find me in ASP.NET., VB6., VB.NET , Writing Articles, My Genealogy, Forum
    All VS.NET: posts refer to VS.NET 2008 (Pro) unless otherwise stated.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    49

    Thumbs up Re: Get Spacific text from window within a 3rd party program

    Thanks Gremmy,

    You have yourself and Pinkey98 to also give cudos for it. As you 2 helped quite a bit. If not in actual code snippets, in direction as well.

    My main concern was that all the db opens and closes looked fine and that everything required to run ado code is all there.

    I will be adding you 2 to the credits window that I will add.

    I like your suggestion. I have had tons of ideas on what else I would like to see this program do but I wanted to get something that functions first, before I go tweaking it. I had a basic list of what I wanted the program to do first before adding any more bells or whistles.

    Again, thanks for your help and if you want the db, when I find the link where I found it, I will send it to ya.

    Intercepter

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This a Codeguru.com survey!


On-Demand Webinars (sponsored)