dcsimg
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Adding Web Page to site

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    160

    Adding Web Page to site

    I have a website that has been running for a few years. I have created a new page in vb.net/aspx and used ftp commander to transfer it from c:\inetpub\wwwroot\project\newpage.aspx to the website. when I use IE to open the page I get an error. So I have created a blank web page and transfered it to the website. It gives an error as well. Is there anything else I need to transfer with the page???

    Any ideas??

    Thanks,

    Jason

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    805

    Re: Adding Web Page to site

    did you include the binaries? is your site running asp.net ?
    rate my posts!
    mcm

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    160

    Re: Adding Web Page to site

    I only transfered the .aspx file. What is the binaries. I have binary checked as transfer type. Yes the site is running asp.net.

    I just added the new page to the project on my computer. It runs with the web site on the computer but will not run on the server the web site is on. I get a server error.

    thanks,

    Jason

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waterloo ON
    Posts
    545

    Re: Adding Web Page to site

    Quote Originally Posted by theghost
    I have a website that has been running for a few years. I have created a new page in vb.net/aspx and used ftp commander to transfer it from c:\inetpub\wwwroot\project\newpage.aspx to the website. when I use IE to open the page I get an error. So I have created a blank web page and transfered it to the website. It gives an error as well. Is there anything else I need to transfer with the page???

    Any ideas??

    Thanks,

    Jason
    Jason, could you post the error message here so as to figure out the problem?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    160

    Re: Adding Web Page to site

    Quote Originally Posted by jasonli
    Jason, could you post the error message here so as to figure out the problem?
    here is the error.

    Server Error in '/' Application.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Runtime Error
    Description: An application error occurred on the server. The current custom error settings for this application prevent the details of the application error from being viewed remotely (for security reasons). It could, however, be viewed by browsers running on the local server machine.

    Details: To enable the details of this specific error message to be viewable on remote machines, please create a <customErrors> tag within a "web.config" configuration file located in the root directory of the current web application. This <customErrors> tag should then have its "mode" attribute set to "Off".


    <!-- Web.Config Configuration File -->

    <configuration>
    <system.web>
    <customErrors mode="Off"/>
    </system.web>
    </configuration>


    Notes: The current error page you are seeing can be replaced by a custom error page by modifying the "defaultRedirect" attribute of the application's <customErrors> configuration tag to point to a custom error page URL.


    <!-- Web.Config Configuration File -->

    <configuration>
    <system.web>
    <customErrors mode="RemoteOnly" defaultRedirect="mycustompage.htm"/>
    </system.web>
    </configuration>

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    805

    Re: Adding Web Page to site

    thast not the error thats the page telling you to turn off custom errors so we can see the error. Modify your web.config file and try again.
    mcm
    rate my posts!
    mcm

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    160

    Re: Adding Web Page to site

    Quote Originally Posted by mcmcom
    thast not the error thats the page telling you to turn off custom errors so we can see the error. Modify your web.config file and try again.
    mcm
    i have tried to modify the web.config file but i dont think I am doing it correctly. How should I do this?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waterloo ON
    Posts
    545

    Re: Adding Web Page to site

    Set customErrors' mode to "off" and then you could get the real application error. Post the real one here.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    805

    Re: Adding Web Page to site

    make sure its "Off" not "off" (case sensitivity matters in the web.config)
    rate my posts!
    mcm

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    160

    Re: Adding Web Page to site

    Quote Originally Posted by mcmcom
    make sure its "Off" not "off" (case sensitivity matters in the web.config)
    Thanks, I had the case wrong. Here is the error.

    Description: An error occurred during the parsing of a resource required to service this request. Please review the following specific parse error details and modify your source file appropriately.

    Parser Error Message: Could not load type 'CSC.TestWeightReports'.

    Source Error:


    Line 2: <%@ Register TagPrefix="uc1" TagName="userFoot" Src="userFoot.ascx" %>
    Line 3: <%@ Register TagPrefix="uc1" TagName="userHead" Src="userHead.ascx" %>
    Line 4: <%@ Page Language="vb" AutoEventWireup="false" Codebehind="TestWeightReports.aspx.vb" Inherits="CSC.TestWeightReports"%>
    Line 5: <!doctype html public "-//w3c//dtd html 4.0 transitional//en">
    Line 6: <HTML xmlns>

    Line 4 was highlighted for the error.

    I don,t do this everyday so I am kiind of lost. It,s probaly something simple. can you help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width




On-Demand Webinars (sponsored)