CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

select @@identity

SQL SERVER

private void buttonDone_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
    {
    using (SqlConnection conn = new SqlConnection(Properties.Settings.Default.PEdbConnectionString))
    {
    using (SqlCommand cmd = new SqlCommand("INSERT INTO Orders VALUES(@OrderDate, @Email);SELECT @OrderID=@@IDENTITY", conn))
    {
    cmd.Parameters.Add("@OrderDate", SqlDbType.DateTime).Value = DateTime.Now;
    cmd.Parameters.Add("@Email", SqlDbType.VarChar).Value = User.Text; cmd.Parameters.Add("@OrderID",SqlDbType.Int).Direction=ParameterDirection.Output;

conn.Open();
    cmd.ExecuteNonQuery();
    int idResult = Convert.ToInt16(cmd.ExecuteScalar());
    }
    }
    }

I'm just new with this @@identity. what i want to do is insert values in my table. OrderID is autonumber. after the insert, i want to get the OrderID inserted because i will use it in another insert in another table.. but i haven't included the other code here because i want to solve it one by one. and i don't know if this code is correct. pls help!

Re: select @@identity

Not quite. The combined SQL will be executed as one command, so you dont want a "NonQuery" followed bot a "Scalar", just a "Scalar".

On a related design note, you should get in the habit of using stored procedures rather than direct SQL. You can implement better security and the database engine (especially SQLServer) can create optimized query plans to improve performance.
    TheCPUWizard is a registered trademark, all rights reserved. (If this post was helpful, please RATE it!)
    2008, 2009,2010
    In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice; in practice there is.

* Join the fight, refuse to respond to posts that contain code outside of [code] ... [/code] tags. See here for instructions
    * How NOT to post a question here
    * Of course you read this carefully before you posted
    * Need homework help? Read this first