CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Best way to parse a large string

Hi, im pretty new to C# and i need your opinions on whats the best ( efficient and professional way to the below function )

I have a large message ( lets say, 58 charactaters coming over TCP/IP once every second, they are temperature values )

i have also the same number of custom controls ( lets say labels ).

my GUI displays such values, and updates everysecond.

I know its a simple parsing, thats why i need your opinions on how to tackle this.

1) Should i convert the message into a large string so i can access the members by its array index?

2) Should i create Class and parse all those numbers to variable members within the class

3) How about the mapping? should i hard code the mapping, or should i read the mapping ( char[0] = temp1, char[2] = temp 3, etc etc ) from a file or external source.

4) should i write this function to run on its own thread?

Any other ideas? any input would be greatly appreciated. This is for work and i dont want to come out as rookish at the peers code review meeting.

Thanks!

Re: Best way to parse a large string

Firstly, a large message would really be classified as thousands/tens of thousands of bytes, 58 bytes is nothing!

2) Should i create Class and parse all those numbers to variable members within the class

Would probably be the best option.

3) How about the mapping? should i hard code the mapping, or should i read the mapping ( char[0] = temp1, char[2] = temp 3, etc etc ) from a file or external source.

The mapping should be predefined. The exact nature of what you send over the TCP socket should be known at both the receiver and sender.

4) should i write this function to run on its own thread?
    Probably no need. It's not a terribly complex piece of code. Using asynchronous sockets may be the best option to avoid thread blocking.
    www.monotorrent.com For all your .NET bittorrent needs