CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Single Server Multiple Clients

hi,

i am doing a big windows programming project. In the initialization state the program should connect to a server and asks for permission to start. Asking for permission is made by sending and receiving data(floating license). For example:

Program starts.
    Connect to server.
    Send a message to server ("hello")
    Receive a message from server ("hello")
    Send a message to server ("can i run?")
    Receive a message from server ("yea") // these are done automatically in every start.

In the network each computer that runs my product show connect to server and send receive message. The problem is:

When i implement simple socket programming it does not provide multiple clients. I need a server/client application that supports multiple clients.

I am not good at socket programming and i have to work more on the rest of the project; so, i am looking an implementation, lib, class ...etc. to do what i want easily. (this is an mfc project/server can be console application).

thanks for help

Re: Single Server Multiple Clients

use ACE

You can use multithreading technique to handle connected socket.
    By passing accepted socket to new thread, you still can handle
    listening socket. The other way is using multi process (using fork()
    function).

if i do what henky said, then if "nthread" is the new thread that handle a connection from a client, do the nthread have all function like socket, i mean if i can do that for example ?

Code:
    nthread.send(xxxxxxxx);
    tnx

You might one to consider the IO completion port of Winsock strategy, it's the most efficient IO strategy that I have seen so far, it can receive many clients connection and perform IO operations concurrently. This link will be good for you to start http://www.codeproject.com/internet/SimpleIOCPApp.asp
    Last edited by keenlearner; July 27th, 2007 at 04:17 PM.