dcsimg
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: code problem

code problem

Hi everybody!
    This is my first time on this forum. I'm a novice, and I'm looking for help regarding a section of code in a c++ program that I wrote recently. I'm aggravated because I've written everything correctly (as far as I know) and the program still stops at the same place every time.

Could the problem be with my compiler (Dev c++) or is there in fact something wrong with the way that I've written the code?

This is the block of code that is the problem. It is the first half of a function (doc()). There is a while() condition in the function that is always fulfilled, though the contents of the while() block should cause it to end when the string "/*" is found in the file "hscene.txt". However, '/' is never reached in the file and char test[12] is never defined (When the program is run, there is only a blinking cursor in the top-left corner of the screen). I know that the file "hscene.txt" is accessible and that it does contain the string constant searched for by object.ignore();

void doc() //defines the number of points (pint) and the object coordinates (obj)
    {ifstream object("hscene.txt"); //opens hscene.txt for reading
    char test[12];
    int y, x=1;
    while(x)
    {object.ignore(EOF,'/'); //finds a slash in the file
    object.seekg(-1); //goes back before the slash
    object.getline(test,3,'\0'); //recieves the next two characters in the file (hopefully "/*")
    if(!strcmp(test, "/*"))x=0;} //verifies that test equals the desired string and ends the loop

This is my first time posting code questions on the internet, so if you need more info about the program, please ask me.

Thank you very much for reading my question.
    Andy

Re: code problem

OK, so you have a few problems here.