CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Thread: Programming Layout

Question Programming Layout

i am just starting c++, and would appreciate it if someone helped me understand some things.
    i have been coding with PHP for many years now, so i am certainly not new to programming, and know a respectable amount. But obviously PHP is very different from this.

I want to start doing things, practicing, in directX. but i need some things answered about basic general c++ first.

1) when you define a variable you can basically use int, String, bool, and a few others, but how can you define a variable where you don't really know what it's going to be, or it can be anything?

2) say i wanted to do this:
    function returnvar(){
    return "test.txt";
    }
    function testfunction(){
    dosomething(returnvar())
    }
    i havn't figured out how to successfully do that yet

3) probubly directx specific, but im not sure. i want to be able to have like classes in different CPP or H files that won't be used UNTIL i specify them to be used. i mean right now i can't figure out how to make a function that isn't just initiated on compile. heh. i want it to just be availible. i mean say i have a motion blur function, and onXevent, i want it to be initated. how would i setup a function like that?

4) if i had something i wanted to have, example: motion blur, should i put that in a class or a function? and should that be in a CPP or an H file?

5) how do you call to a class from another file and execute certain functions from it?
    Last edited by JustinMs66; September 26th, 2007 at 05:54 PM.

Re: Programming Layout

I'll be honest, you should probably Google for a basic C++ tutorial to get a good understanding, but I'll try and answer your questions just to get you started.