CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Hybrid View

Windows Image Acquisition (WIA) Code

I would like to give back to the community here by posting some code on how to use WIA for an ADF scanner.

The lack of C# examples makes it difficult for the average coder to figure out. Firstly, please understand that I am relatively new to csharp and this is my first attempt at coding with WIA. I am sure there are parts that could be done better and I'm still not convinced I'm doing it the correct way, however it works which is better than any other example I could find.

An Important note for those who are not aware: WIA only works on windows ME, XP and Vista. Vista uses a newer version of WIA and I have not tested this code on Vista yet. I have only tested with XP. TWAIN is more compatible with different operating systems.

Please note that if you are planning on using WIA for a digital camera, then the example over here - http://www.codeproject.com/dotnet/wi...tingdotnet.asp - should be sufficient enough.

Unfortunately when using a flatbed scanner with an ADF (Auto Document Feeder) tray the example does not work. My project required using an HP scanjet 5590 scanner. The users would be scanning up to 100 pages at a time.

Firstly, you will need the WIA Automation Library 2.0 to be added as a reference in your project. This library can be downloaded from Microsoft's website. You are looking for wiaaut.dll.

Once you've got the library installed and added as a reference in your project you may need the following variables in your class:

Code:
    string DeviceID;

const string wiaFormatBMP ="{B96B3CAB-0728-11D3-9D7B-0000F81EF32E}";		
    const string wiaFormatPNG ="{B96B3CAF-0728-11D3-9D7B-0000F81EF32E}";
    const string wiaFormatGIF ="{B96B3CB0-0728-11D3-9D7B-0000F81EF32E}";
    const string wiaFormatJPEG ="{B96B3CAE-0728-11D3-9D7B-0000F81EF32E}";
    const string wiaFormatTIFF ="{B96B3CB1-0728-11D3-9D7B-0000F81EF32E}";