dcsimg
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Thread: 'switch' statement efficiency in C#

Question 'switch' statement efficiency in C#

I am new to C#, and have come across a situation where I need to perform different tasks based on the criteria value (string).

Thought of using 'switch' statement, I know (from C++), if you order the 'case' statements according to most frequenly occuring 'cases' at the top, it will optimise the 'switch' statement (don't know for sure, but I practiced it), but in C#, order of the 'cases' doesn’t matter.

In my situation, I would end up with around 50 'cases', so I would like to know if there are any other alternatives (to improve efficiency) apart from 'switch' statement?

Any thought/help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: 'switch' statement efficiency in C#

A (C++) switch statement is translated to comparison and jump operations in machine code. So the more cases the more jumps. Of course, if your match case is at the end, more comparison/jumps will be executed than if it was at the beginning. But I think this is a kind of detail that you should not care for. The days of 100MHz processors with 5 pipeline stages are gone. Better concentrate on the clarity of your code, whether you write in C++ or C#. Remember the rules of optimization:
    • don't optimize
    • don't optimize yet (for experts only)
    Marius Bancila
    Home Page
    My CodeGuru articles

I do not offer technical support via PM or e-mail. Please use vbBulletin codes.

Think about the desing. Maybe it could be redesigned using strategy pattern. If it would be possible, no switch and thus no dispatching will be neccessary.
    • Make it run.
    • Make it right.
    • Make it fast.

Don't hesitate to rate my post.

Arjay is offline Moderator / MS MVP Power Poster

If you are interested in speed, you may not want to compare strings.