dcsimg
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Thread: Soliciting cool application features

Arrow Soliciting cool application features

Since I am a lone developer with no one to exchange ideas with I wish that you guys could fill in the gaps.

I am searching on the 'hot' or 'cool' features of applications of todays standards, and I would like specific ones like for instance adding a 'Search History', stuffs like that. Or perhaps you could point me to a downloadable application that is feature rich (aside from Outlook of course).

This will be in n-tier environment using C# 2005 and the project is for Property Management and Asset Register, it will also have a GIS feature.

Thank you so much guys!

Re: Soliciting cool application features

Anyone?

I think each situation ( application ) is different. I also think that funky / cool features are quite relative to each person / team - so it would be extremely diffucult for anyone to 100% pinpoint a feature. If we have more knowledge of the application, we can suggest more.

I'm also in the situation of being the lone programmer, and a lot of my apps are presently being used - usually my ideas come from the users. Mostly, I've been using a trial and error basis, where I implement a new feature, and get feedback from the people using the app. So, if you can have a tester testing your app, you'll get more ideas & suggestions.
    With every yearly update, I implement the new features, that I've been thinking of throughout the year ( believe it or not ), sometimes at that point I can see if something will work or not.

Just my 2 cents...
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    All my Articles
    Hannes

The software that I am currently developing would be marketed offshore so I would want to put in some features that would attract customers, if this could have been an internal application then I wouldn't have cared much about integrating funky features but I need to for the competition's sake.