CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

LoadImage and Dual Core Processors

Are there any known problems with LoadImage and dual core processors? I'm working on an update to a legacy game engine and we're seeing very slow speeds when graphics are loading on Intel dual core machines. Single core and AMD dual core machines have no problems, though I have seen some intermittant slowing on an AMD dual core, it's much less than what's been seen on the Intel dual cores.

I saw hessitations of less than a second on the AMD dual core doing things that some people said took 8-10 seconds on an Intel dual core. On a single core, the delay is almost imperceptible.

We're using a version of DirectX 9, though the libraries mostly start with d3xxxx, so they may be DirectX 3 compatible.

I'm somewhat new to DirectX, so I'm not sure of their nomenclature.

Is there a better way to be loading images? We're getting near our relaese date, so I can't do major surgery on the code at this point, but I'm hoping to be able to do something to improve this problem.

Bill

Re: LoadImage and Dual Core Processors

If you are using LoadImage i have to assume you are using 24bit bitmap images for your game.
    A .bmp has all kinds of extra crap it doesnt need inside.
    All you really need to describe a 24 or 32 bit image is its width/height/bpp.
    For this reason i use .raw images in my engine which include an 8byte header, like...
    Code:
    typedef struct {
       char magic[3];
       short width;
       short height;
       char bpp;
    } ImageHeader;

Issues such as this can only be resolved by carful measurements on the machine(S) exhibiting the symptom.

BitShifter's point is valid, but I have NEVER seen this type of performance issue because of it.