CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

How would I utilize this function?

Ok, long story short, one of my homework assignments requires us the take a matrix to a power. I am fairly new to programming (not exactly a beginner but not up to the intermediate level yet). The files I downloaded for the assignment (pre-built code so we dont have to write our own matrix definitions) contains the following for taking a matrix to a power:

Code:
    template<typename MatrixT> struct Power; //this is up towards the top of the file

//the following is all further down, mixed in with many other matrix functions.
    template<typename MatrixT>
    struct Power
    // PURPOSE: Returns a matrix with all its elements raised to a defined power.
    // REQUIRE: A matrix conforming to the template class Matrix<ValueT,MatrixTypeP,MathP>.
    // PROMISE: A matrix with all the original elements raised to a defined power will be returned.
    {
    	typedef typename MatrixT::value_type value_type;

MatrixT operator()(const MatrixT& matrix, const value_type& power)
    	{
    		MatrixT powerMatrix;
    		(*this)(matrix, powerMatrix, power);
    		return powerMatrix;
    	}
    	void operator()(const MatrixT& matrix, MatrixT& powerMatrix, const value_type& power)
    	{
    		const size_t maxRows = matrix.row.size();
    		const size_t maxCols = matrix.col.size();

powerMatrix.resize(maxRows, maxCols);
    		for (size_t i=0; i<maxRows; ++i)
    		{
    			for (size_t j=0; j<maxCols; ++j) powerMatrix(i,j) = pow(matrix(i,j), power);	
    		}
    	}
    };
    I asked my professor and my professor suggested just creating a loop in the program to raise the matrix to a power. I have done that (the assignment is complete) but I would like to know how to call (and utilize) this function.

At first I just tried

matrix2 = Power(matrix1, 3);

to raise matrix1 to the power of 3, but that gave me an error.