Do you establish performance specifications?
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

View Poll Results: Do you establish performance specification?

Voters
3. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, on a custom per project basis

    1 33.33%
  • Yes, I have a standard documents set

    1 33.33%
  • Only if I recived specifications as part of the requirements

    1 33.33%
  • Rarely

    0 0%
  • Never

    0 0%
  • What is a Performance Specification

    1 33.33%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Do you establish performance specifications?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    NY, USA
    Posts
    12,097

    Do you establish performance specifications?

    If not....why not?
    TheCPUWizard is a registered trademark, all rights reserved. (If this post was helpful, please RATE it!)
    2008, 2009
    In theory, there is no difference between theory and paractice; in practice there is.

    * Join the fight, refuse to respond to posts that contain code outside of [code] ... [/code] tags. See here for instructions
    * How NOT to post a question here
    * Of course you read this carefully before you posted
    * Need homework help? Read this first

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    NY, USA
    Posts
    12,097

    Re: Do you establish performance specifications?

    I am somewhat suprised that NO ONE has responded to this question.

    Seeing that posts about performance are quite common, I am very curious how people determine a "well performing" application from a "poor" one.....
    TheCPUWizard is a registered trademark, all rights reserved. (If this post was helpful, please RATE it!)
    2008, 2009
    In theory, there is no difference between theory and paractice; in practice there is.

    * Join the fight, refuse to respond to posts that contain code outside of [code] ... [/code] tags. See here for instructions
    * How NOT to post a question here
    * Of course you read this carefully before you posted
    * Need homework help? Read this first

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Land Of Sand
    Posts
    7

    Re: Do you establish performance specifications?

    Hi,

    As a student this is not really what we usually care about. Could you please give us an example of what a performance specification might look like? In what unit the performance is measured?

    Thanks...
    Khaled Alshaya, CS student at KFUPM ..... Just another programmer!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    NY, USA
    Posts
    12,097

    Re: Do you establish performance specifications?

    Quote Originally Posted by Khaled.Alshaya View Post
    Hi,

    As a student this is not really what we usually care about. Could you please give us an example of what a performance specification might look like? In what unit the performance is measured?

    Thanks...
    There are usually two domains for basic applications: Resources and Time. If it is a server application (e.g. a WebSite) then Simultainous Access becomes important.

    As a simple (trivial) example consider an application that has a button. A typical performance specification would be that the UI update completes in under 200mS (1/5 of a second). This is a generally accepted perception of "instantly". If the time is longer (thresholds vary, but typically at around 1 second) then it becomes appropriate to show a "Wait Cursor", slightly longer (3-5 seconds) it becomes appropriate to show some type of progress.

    During development, this response time would be continuously tested (at each successful build) with records kept to identify any trends where the application is "slowing down". This allows for the appropriate action to be taken BEFORE the application becomes more complex.
    TheCPUWizard is a registered trademark, all rights reserved. (If this post was helpful, please RATE it!)
    2008, 2009
    In theory, there is no difference between theory and paractice; in practice there is.

    * Join the fight, refuse to respond to posts that contain code outside of [code] ... [/code] tags. See here for instructions
    * How NOT to post a question here
    * Of course you read this carefully before you posted
    * Need homework help? Read this first

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    14,874

    Re: Do you establish performance specifications?

    Most of the daily processing is not time critical, so that wasn't even part of the design. If the system were to grow exponentially, it might warrant some optimization, but, unless it was specifically quantified, it'd be up to me as to how to implement.
    David

    CodeGuru Article: Bound Controls are Evil-VB6
    2013 Samples: MS CODE Samples

    CodeGuru Reviewer
    2006 Dell CSP
    2006, 2007 & 2008 MVP Visual Basic
    If your question has been answered satisfactorily, and it has been helpful, then, please, Rate this Post!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    NY, USA
    Posts
    12,097

    Re: Do you establish performance specifications?

    Quote Originally Posted by dglienna View Post
    Most of the daily processing is not time critical, so that wasn't even part of the design. If the system were to grow exponentially, it might warrant some optimization, but, unless it was specifically quantified, it'd be up to me as to how to implement.
    There in lies the problem (based on my experience)...What is the definition of "is not time critical"????

    Is it acceptable to click a button and wait 2 seconds, 3 seconds, ......

    At some point the end user will complain, that is guaranteed.

    But how do YOU protect yourself against this being considered a "bug"? Or against premature optimization?

    I could easly create a silly application with 50 buttons, and have the response time start at 100mS and go up by 100mS (so that the slowest buton took 5.1 seconds). [Randomly arranged]

    Give this out to a number of people and have them determine "Which buttons buttons are too slow".
    TheCPUWizard is a registered trademark, all rights reserved. (If this post was helpful, please RATE it!)
    2008, 2009
    In theory, there is no difference between theory and paractice; in practice there is.

    * Join the fight, refuse to respond to posts that contain code outside of [code] ... [/code] tags. See here for instructions
    * How NOT to post a question here
    * Of course you read this carefully before you posted
    * Need homework help? Read this first

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    14,874

    Re: Do you establish performance specifications?

    Like using Server Side Grid Controls (DevExpress) for very large datasets, so that it pages the data automatically was a choice I made, even with a few hundred records. Now that there's 2000, it really doesn't matter.

    If they ever get to 50K records, it might make a difference.
    David

    CodeGuru Article: Bound Controls are Evil-VB6
    2013 Samples: MS CODE Samples

    CodeGuru Reviewer
    2006 Dell CSP
    2006, 2007 & 2008 MVP Visual Basic
    If your question has been answered satisfactorily, and it has been helpful, then, please, Rate this Post!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Azure Activities Information Page

Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center