CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Thread: What to choose?

What to choose?

Hello everyone ,

I would like to start a new project on Visual C++ 6.0 (I must use that) but I don't know where to start from. I usually used freeware SDK and I am not a skilled programmer. I would like to make an application that can run from console with all his classes and afterwards to add a gui, or to do both the things together. When I do New->Projects what should I choose?

To admin: if this is not the right place sorry for that...and move me anywhere you want

Re: What to choose?

If you want to do both, you need to have two separate projects, or else use a DLL.

If you are an experianced CLI programmer (coming from the UNIX world), create a console project.

If you are starting from scratch and just learning, then I personally would do a console project to do a "Hello World", then create a GUI project to make a "Hello World" GUI.

I suggest getting a book on this subject. Way too big to cover here.

-Erik

Create a dialog based MFC project. In the InitInstance you mainwindow will be shown. Disable this code and you can use it like it is a commandline program. Afterwards you can enable the disabled code and you will have a mainwindow.

Lindley is offline Elite Member Power Poster

I admit I don't know much about MFC, but given its age and some of the outdated patterns it uses, is it really a good place for newbies to be starting?

Quote Originally Posted by Lindley View Post
    I admit I don't know much about MFC, but given its age and some of the outdated patterns it uses, is it really a good place for newbies to be starting?
    Depends.

1. If they want to learn how everything works and be a guru, yes.
    2. If they want to just slap together an app and hope, no.

If it is #2, take a look at C#.NET.

-Erik

I admit I don't know much about MFC
    Isn’t the above sentence a contradiction to: