CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Unhappy [VB 2008] Merging Different Concepts Together

Hi Guys,

This is my first post as I don't like to ask questions without making sure I've exhausted all other means. I'm new to VB2008 and programming in general but I'm learning. I want to do several simple tasks. Doing each separately is easy but when I put them together I don't know what to do. For one thing to work all the code must be changed and everything else doesn't work. I hope you guys can help me out as I'm really lost. I want to:

1. Plot a graph of data from a DAQ. I can do this by using a Timer1_tick method and displaying the data on the linegraph as long as the timer is turned on. I've decided to stick with this method of acquisition. I want to acquire data for long periods of time (perhaps 3 hours) so a timer is pretty good. No problems here.
    2. Apply a filter to remove noise from the plot dynamically as the data comes in so that I get a smooth curve instead of a jagged graph. I know I can do this with for loops if I'm using an array. But how do I do it since I'm using a timer? Here the problem begins.
    3. Log every piece of the filtered data that the timer is getting to be exported to a CSV file. I learned how to do this with do loops but not with a timer or array. But I really need to use the timer this time.
    4. Acquire statistics for the data like maximum value, minimum value, and average value dynamically as the data changes. I know how to do this with an array of data after all the data is acquired. But How do I do this with a timer while the data is still being collected?
    5. Monitor the data coming in to execute an alarm (Or event, like stopping the acquisition) when the data coming in has plateaued and is constant (eg: The voltage I'm monitoring starts to become constant and becomes one constant value) - Ok I don't know anything about this.