operand type does not match
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: operand type does not match

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13

    operand type does not match

    Im making a progam that ask for a value. The program than calculates values into a formula.
    My problem MOV U, AX. It generates a error (OPERAND TYPES DO NOT MATCH)

    here is my code
    Code:
    		page	58, 132
    		name	RUN
    		title	RUN (Executes a program specified on the cmd line).
    		
    
    
    
    		include	consts.a
    		include stdin.a
    		include stdout.a
    		include misc.a
    		include memory.a
    		include	strings.a
    
    		.list
                    include                 stdlib.a
                    includelib              stdlib.lib
                    
    
    dseg            segment public
    
    I db 44
    testtest db ?
    u               db    ?
    v               db    ?
    w               db    ?
    x               db    ?
    y               db    ?
    
    
    dseg            ends
    cseg segment public 'code'
    
    
    
    cseg ends
    
    
    
    
    CSEG		segment public 'CODE'
    		assume	cs:cseg, ds:cseg 
    
    
    ; Variables used by this program.  Okay, so I'm lazy and should have put
    ; them into their own segment.  However, you will not that I do not assume
    ; that these variables are in the code segment.
    geti            equ <call _geti>
    _geti           proc
                    push    es
                    push    di
    
                    getsm
                    atoi
                    free
    
                    pop     di
                    pop     es
                    ret
    _geti           endp
    
    
    
    Main		proc
    		mov ax, dseg
    		mov ds, ax
    		mov es, ax
    		meminit
    
    ; If you want to do something before the execution of the command-line
    ; specified program, here is a good place to do it:
    
    
    
    
    
    print
                    db    "Abitrary expression program",cr,lf
                    db    "---------------------------",cr,lf
                    db    lf
                    db    "Enter a value for u: ",0
    
                   geti
                    mov    u, ax
    
    ;I HAVE NOT DONE THE FORMULA YET, BUT I WILL
                    
    
    
    
    
    
                  
                    
                    
                   
                    
                    
    		
    
    
    ; Okay, if you have any great deeds to do after the program, this is a
    ; good place to put such stuff.
    
    
    
    
    ; Return control to MS-DOS
    
    Quit:		ExitPgm
    
    Main		endp
    
    
    cseg		ends
    
    
    
    sseg		segment	para stack 'stack'
    		dw	1024 dup (0)
    endstk		dw	?
    sseg		ends
    
    ; Seg aside some room for the heap.
    
    zzzzzzseg	segment	para public 'zzzzzzseg'
    		public	Heap
    Heap		db	200h dup (?)
    zzzzzzseg	ends
    
    		end	Main

    Im using TASM assembler. Also, Why can i not use WORD in my DSEG, I have to use DB or it will give me UNDEFINED SYMBOL: U.

    Also.. the "mov u, ax" can be fixed with "mov WORD PTR U, ax"....but than i get (CANT ADDRESS WITH CURRENTLY ASSUMED SEGMENT REGISTERS.
    Last edited by access1011; April 18th, 2009 at 03:16 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,755

    Re: operand type does not match

    DB stands for "define byte". If you want to use a WORD variable you should use "DW" (define word). In addition, you can also use DD (dword/float), DQ (int64/double precision float) and DT (extended precision float).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13

    Re: operand type does not match

    that fixes the OPERAND DOES NOT MATCH problem, but nowi get CANT ADDRESS WITH CURRENTLY ASSUMED SEGMENT REGISTERS error on my statments


    let me repost my code with formula . I put comments on every line that causes a error
    Code:
    		page	58, 132
    		name	RUN
    		title	RUN (Executes a program specified on the cmd line).
    		
    
    
    
    		include	consts.a
    		include stdin.a
    		include stdout.a
    		include misc.a
    		include memory.a
    		include	strings.a
    
    		.list
                    include                 stdlib.a
                    includelib              stdlib.lib
                    
    
    dseg            segment public
    
    I db 44
    testtest db ?
    u               dw    ?
    v               dw    ?
    w               dw    ?
    x               dw    ?
    y               dw    ?
    
    
    dseg            ends
    
    
    cseg segment public 'code'
    
    
    
    cseg ends
    
    
    
    
    CSEG		segment public 'CODE'
    		assume	cs:cseg, ds:cseg 
    
    
    ; Variables used by this program.  Okay, so I'm lazy and should have put
    ; them into their own segment.  However, you will not that I do not assume
    ; that these variables are in the code segment.
    geti            equ <call _geti>
    _geti           proc
                    push    es
                    push    di
    
                    getsm
                    atoi
                    free
    
                    pop     di
                    pop     es
                    ret
    _geti           endp
    
    
    
    Main		proc
    		mov ax, dseg
    		mov ds, ax
    		mov es, ax
    		meminit
    
    ; If you want to do something before the execution of the command-line
    ; specified program, here is a good place to do it:
    
    
    
    
    
    print
                    db    "enter value to add up",cr,lf
                    db    "---------------------------",cr,lf
                    db    lf
                    db    "Enter a value for u: ",0
    
                   geti
                   mov u, ax ;RIGHT EHRE ERROR
                   
                   print
                   db "Enter value for v",0
                   geti
                   mov v, ax ;RIGHT HERE ERROR
                   
                   
                   ;this formula adds each other
                   
                   print
                   db cr, lf
                   db "u + v is",0
                   
                   mov ax, u ;RIGHT HERE ERROR
                   add ax, v ;RIGHT HERE ERROR
                   
                   puti
                   putcr
                   
                   
                    
    puti
    putcr
    
                    
    
    
    
    
    
                  
                    
                    
                   
                    
                    
    		
    
    
    ; Okay, if you have any great deeds to do after the program, this is a
    ; good place to put such stuff.
    
    
    
    
    ; Return control to MS-DOS
    
    Quit:		ExitPgm
    
    Main		endp
    
    
    cseg		ends
    
    
    
    sseg		segment	para stack 'stack'
    		dw	1024 dup (0)
    endstk		dw	?
    sseg		ends
    
    ; Seg aside some room for the heap.
    
    zzzzzzseg	segment	para public 'zzzzzzseg'
    		public	Heap
    Heap		db	200h dup (?)
    zzzzzzseg	ends
    
    		end	Main
    Last edited by access1011; April 18th, 2009 at 03:36 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,755

    Re: operand type does not match

    This is the line that is causing the error.
    Code:
    assume	cs:cseg, ds:cseg

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13

    Re: operand type does not match

    if i try to edit " assume cs:cseg, ds:cseg " or take it out, i get a whole bunch of errors?

    any suggestions?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,755

    Re: operand type does not match

    The problem is that there is no assumption about dseg. It should be changed to
    Code:
    assume	cs:cseg, ds:Dseg

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13

    Re: operand type does not match

    it works now thankx alot

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center