Issues with Command Line Parsing in MFC
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Issues with Command Line Parsing in MFC

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Aarhus, Denmark
    Posts
    7

    Issues with Command Line Parsing in MFC

    Hi.

    My very first post here at CodeGuru, so bear with me, if it doesn't comply with all the standards

    I'm trying to add a command line interface to an existing MFC application. As of now I can open the application and load a file into the app. using the command line.

    I would like the keep that functionality, and add three optional arguments to the command line interface. I've followed the example given by Kirants here: http://www.codeguru.com/forum/showthread.php?t=386406. The "ParseParam" function implemented in the exampel overrides the original ParseParam function, and therefore I'm unable to use the original ParseParam to open the file.

    Code example given below:


    CommandLineParser.h:
    Code:
    class CommandLineParser : public CCommandLineInfo  
    {
    	bool clp_reset;
    	bool clp_verify;
    	bool clp_load;
    
    public:
    
    	CommandLineParser();
    	
    	virtual ~CommandLineParser();
    
    	bool IsLoad();
    	bool IsVerify();
    	bool IsReset();
    
    	virtual void ParseParam(const char* pszParam, BOOL bFlag, BOOL bLast);
    };
    
    
    CommandLineParser::CommandLineParser()
    {
    	clp_load = clp_verify = clp_reset = false;
    }
    
    CommandLineParser::~CommandLineParser()
    {
    
    }
    
    bool CommandLineParser::IsLoad() 
    {
    	return clp_load;
    }
    
    bool CommandLineParser::IsVerify()
    {
    	return clp_verify;
    }
    
    bool CommandLineParser::IsReset() 
    {
    	return clp_reset;
    }
    
    void CommandLineParser::ParseParam(const char* pszParam, BOOL bFlag, BOOL bLast)
    {
            //Arguments could be either -l or --l
    	if(0 == strcmp(pszParam, "l") || 0 == strcmp(pszParam, "-l"))
    	{
    		clp_load = true;
    	} 
    	else if(0 == strcmp(pszParam, "v"))
    	{
    		clp_verify = true;
    	}
    	else if(0 == strcmp(pszParam, "r"))
    	{
    		clp_reset = true;
    	}
    }
    InitInstance:
    Code:
    BOOL CMyMlvApp::InitInstance()
    {
    	LPTSTR TempPath;
    	char drive[_MAX_DRIVE];
    	char dir[_MAX_DIR];
    	char fname[_MAX_FNAME];
    	char ext[_MAX_EXT];
    
    	...
    
    	TempPath=GetCommandLine();
    	if (TempPath[0]=='\"') TempPath++;
    	TempPath[strcspn(TempPath," ")]='\0';
    	_splitpath( TempPath, drive, dir, fname, ext );
    	strcpy(MainPathName,drive);
    	strcat(MainPathName,dir);
    	SetCurrentDirectory(MainPathName);
    	
    	
            ...
    
    	// Enable DDE Execute open
    	EnableShellOpen();
    	RegisterShellFileTypes(TRUE);
    
    
    	// Parse command line for standard shell commands, DDE, file open
    	CCommandLineInfo cmdInfo1;
    	ParseCommandLine(cmdInfo1);
    	
    
    	// Dispatch commands specified on the command line
    	if (!ProcessShellCommand(cmdInfo1))
    		return FALSE;
    
    	CommandLineParser cmdInfo2;
    	ParseCommandLine(cmdInfo2);
    
    	if(cmdInfo2.IsLoad())
    	{
    		cout << "IsLoad";
    	}
    	else if(cmdInfo2.IsVerify())
    	{
    		cout << "IsVerify";
    	}
    
    	cout << "Was it loaded or verified?";
    So, to sum it up, I think my issue is that CCommandLineInfo clears the commandline, leaving nothing to be parsed by my CommandLineParser.

    How do I work around this?

    btw - I'm on Win XP, and using VC++ 6

    Best regards
    Kasper D.

  2. #2
    VictorN's Avatar
    VictorN is online now Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Wallisellen (ZH), Switzerland
    Posts
    17,471

    Re: Issues with Command Line Parsing in MFC

    Just call the base class method in your CommandLineParser::ParseParam:
    Code:
    void CommandLineParser::ParseParam(const char* pszParam, BOOL bFlag, BOOL bLast)
    {
            //Arguments could be either -l or --l
    	if(0 == strcmp(pszParam, "l") || 0 == strcmp(pszParam, "-l"))
    	{
    		clp_load = true;
    	} 
    	else if(0 == strcmp(pszParam, "v"))
    	{
    		clp_verify = true;
    	}
    	....
    	else
    	{
    		CCommandLineInfo::ParseParam( lpszParam, bFlag, bLast );
    	}
    }
    Victor Nijegorodov

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Aarhus, Denmark
    Posts
    7

    Re: Issues with Command Line Parsing in MFC

    Wow... Simple and genius solution. This solved my primary issue, but gave me a bunch of new issues, so might return later :P

    But for now: Recht sch&#246;nen Dank Victor!

  4. #4
    VictorN's Avatar
    VictorN is online now Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Wallisellen (ZH), Switzerland
    Posts
    17,471

    Re: Issues with Command Line Parsing in MFC

    You are welcome!

    PS: you might also want to look at Paul DiLascia's way to do it here: http://www.microsoft.com/msj/1099/c/c1099.aspx
    Victor Nijegorodov

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Aarhus, Denmark
    Posts
    7

    Re: Issues with Command Line Parsing in MFC

    Thank you - will look into that Q&A!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    10,354

    Re: Issues with Command Line Parsing in MFC

    Quote Originally Posted by KasperD View Post
    This solved my primary issue, but gave me a bunch of new issues, so might return later :P
    Cool! I should update the FAQ. Thanks for bringing it up.
    Also, curious as to what the new issues are. If related to the FAQ, I would like to fix them.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Aarhus, Denmark
    Posts
    7

    Re: Issues with Command Line Parsing in MFC

    Hi kirants!

    Okay, at least one of my new issues might be related to the FAQ

    The order of arguments in the commandline matters. I would like it to be irrelevant.
    e.g. "myAppName -opt1 file.txt" will execute option1, and open file.txt. But "myAppName file.txt -opt1" will execute option1, but will not open the file.

    My final problem is a minor one - I would like the program to be able to handle 3 options. e.g. "myAppName -opt1 -opt2 -opt3 file.txt" which is suppose to open the file, and execute the three options. I 've solved this issue by not using an else-if-ladder in the initInstance()

    //Kasper D.
    Last edited by KasperD; May 6th, 2009 at 05:07 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center