[RESOLVED] how to Log In to server as Administrator
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [RESOLVED] how to Log In to server as Administrator

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    6

    [RESOLVED] how to Log In to server as Administrator

    I have developed a monitoring system which has VB6 as its front and MS Access as its database

    i have saved the Database (.mdb) file into the server's Disks and am using the "\\server\folder\database.mdb" as my connectionstring data source and it works, i can now add, edit, and delete the files in the said Access file using the package i have installed in another computer in the network.

    but before i could access the database from the remote computer, i have to log off from the default user of the Computer and log in as an Administrator with the administrator account that i have.

    i have noticed in one system that we are using here in our workplace that whenever the other computers are going to use their online file management system, they are prompted to log in as an administrator for that particular program on that session

    there is a window that pops up which looks a little bit like this image in this link,
    http://techsalsa.com/wp-content/uplo...gin-screen.gif

    , and so they call me to log in the Administrator's account using the same Administrator account that i have.

    how do i apply this in my system so that i could access the database from our server?
    any help would be much appreciated, thx
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    149

    Re: how to Log In to server as Administrator

    Create a common user with same password in all the system which uses your application and server also. Give permission to that user to access your database folder.

    Hope this will solve your problem.
    Encourage the efforts of fellow members by rating

    Lets not Spoon Feed and create pool of lazy programmers

    - ComIT Solutions

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    6

    Re: how to Log In to server as Administrator

    i have another user in our LAN which is also an administrator account,

    i tried logging in using that user but still, it prompted me that i do not have sufficient permissions to access even though i have activated Full Control in the permission in the Sharing tab for the folder

    Database vb error:
    "must be an updateable query" etc.

    the only user which allowed me to update the database entries was the Administrator account, the main admin acct for all computers in our network
    Last edited by vaingelo; May 13th, 2009 at 02:18 AM. Reason: additional

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    149

    Re: how to Log In to server as Administrator

    Quote Originally Posted by vaingelo View Post
    i have another user in our LAN which is also an administrator account,

    i tried logging in using that user but still, it prompted me that i do not have sufficient permissions to access even though i have activated Full Control in the permission in the Sharing tab for the folder
    Have you tried accessing folder \\server\folder in explorer?
    If get the same error or asks for user name and password. There is no proper permission
    given the user to access the folder.
    I think the mdb file created by administrator.
    If are able to access the folder then check permissions granted for mdb file.
    You should be able to locate the problem.
    Make sure that the common user created in all the systems are of same domain, user name, Password and category.
    Encourage the efforts of fellow members by rating

    Lets not Spoon Feed and create pool of lazy programmers

    - ComIT Solutions

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    6

    Talking Re: how to Log In to server as Administrator

    thnks,

    i have made the right permissions and now, i can access the file

    another thing, is there a way for me to make a landscape datareport?

    or should i make another thread for this one?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    149

    Re: how to Log In to server as Administrator

    Quote Originally Posted by vaingelo View Post
    thnks,

    i have made the right permissions and now, i can access the file

    another thing, is there a way for me to make a landscape datareport?

    or should i make another thread for this one?
    1) If your problem solved, mark this thread as resolved.

    2) Yes, Post your question in new thread.
    Encourage the efforts of fellow members by rating

    Lets not Spoon Feed and create pool of lazy programmers

    - ComIT Solutions

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center