CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    2

    Question Simple Randomize Question

    I am trying to select a random number using a command:

    Randomize
    (variable as integer) = Int (Rnd * #) + #


    Actual Code:

    Randomize
    t = Int (Rnd * 7) + 0


    I want the random number, if selected to not be able to be selected more than once, and once it has been selected and it will keep cycling until it finds a number that has not been selected.

    I will post more of the code later, right now i just put down some key parts.
    If you need to know more about the code or whatever, just reply or message me.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Crofton, MD
    Posts
    76

    Re: Simple Randomize Question

    From what I can tell your code is missing some key information. This is how to generate a random number.
    Code:
    Randomize
    variable = Int((upperbound - lowerbound + 1) * Rnd() + lowerbound)
    As far as keeping it to regenerate the same number, that would depend on how many digits your number is going to be. You would have to pass the variable to possibly a function to test it against a stored list of used values.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    5,362

    Re: Simple Randomize Question

    From what I can tell your code is missing some key information. This is how to generate a random number.
    Code:
    variable = Int((upperbound - lowerbound + 1) * Rnd() + lowerbound)
    What

    xmrw:

    You should add the timer to your randomize statement to make sure it actually generates a random number that is not the same every time you run the program.

    Using 7 there will of course only be 7 numbers that can show up.

    one way to test against dupes is to simply append the number to a string and test that string for the number using instr. Another way and in this case a better way would be to use an array to store your numbers generated and test them against the array.


    Something like
    Code:
    Private Sub Command1_Click()
    Dim PickedNumbers(1 To 7) As Integer
    Dim RndNumber As Integer
    Dim X As Integer
    Dim Y As Integer
    
    Dim Dupe As Boolean
    
    Randomize Timer
    For Y = 1 To 7
        Do
            Dupe = False
            RndNumber = Int(Rnd * 7) + 1
            For X = 1 To Y
                If RndNumber = PickedNumbers(X) Then
                    Dupe = True
                    Exit For
                 End If
            Next
            If Dupe = False Then
                PickedNumbers(Y) = RndNumber
            End If
        Loop While Dupe
        Debug.Print PickedNumbers(Y)
    Next
    
    
    End Sub
    Last edited by DataMiser; May 15th, 2009 at 11:43 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Fox Lake, IL
    Posts
    15,007

    Re: Simple Randomize Question

    Or this:

    Code:
    Option Explicit
    
    ' written by szlamany
    
    Dim x As Integer
    Dim lngchoice(10) As Long
    Dim lngrnd As Long
    
    
    Private Sub Form_Load()
    
    Randomize
    
    For x = 1 To 10
        lngchoice(x) = x
    Next x
    
    ' We now have an array of 10 items, 1 to 10
    
    lngrnd = Int(Rnd * 10) + 1
    
    Debug.Print "First lngRnd="; lngrnd; " Choice="; lngchoice(lngrnd)
    
    For x = lngrnd + 1 To 10
        lngchoice(x - 1) = lngchoice(x) ' Move down the values above our call
    Next x
    
    ' We now have an array of 9 items
    
    lngrnd = Int(Rnd * 9) + 1
    
    Debug.Print "Second lngRnd="; lngrnd; " Choice="; lngchoice(lngrnd)
    
    For x = lngrnd + 1 To 9
        lngchoice(x - 1) = lngchoice(x) ' Move down the values above our call
    Next x
    
    ' We now have an array of 8 items
    
    lngrnd = Int(Rnd * 8) + 1
    
    Debug.Print "Third lngRnd="; lngrnd; " Choice="; lngchoice(lngrnd)
    
    End Sub
    David

    CodeGuru Article: Bound Controls are Evil-VB6
    2013 Samples: MS CODE Samples

    CodeGuru Reviewer
    2006 Dell CSP
    2006, 2007 & 2008 MVP Visual Basic
    If your question has been answered satisfactorily, and it has been helpful, then, please, Rate this Post!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,725

    Re: Simple Randomize Question

    If the range of your random numbers is not within the 10000 or so, you could make easy use of a string function.
    Code:
      public picked as string
    
      function NewRnd as integer
        dim r as integer
        do    
           r = RandomNumberInTheRangeYouWant 'like Rnd(32)+1 or so
        loop until instr(picked, "/"+cstr(r)+"/") = 0
        picked = picked + "/" + cstr(r) + "/"
        NewRnd  = r
      end function
    Any number picked so far is stored in the string like "/nn/" where n is the number.
    If a new random number is created, instr() is used to check if it exists already in the string of picked numbers.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Fox Lake, IL
    Posts
    15,007

    Re: Simple Randomize Question

    This shuffles the deck, and is probably faster than string ops
    David

    CodeGuru Article: Bound Controls are Evil-VB6
    2013 Samples: MS CODE Samples

    CodeGuru Reviewer
    2006 Dell CSP
    2006, 2007 & 2008 MVP Visual Basic
    If your question has been answered satisfactorily, and it has been helpful, then, please, Rate this Post!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1

    Re: Simple Randomize Question

    I'd just like to add some extra information about xmrw and I. We're both freshmen students of a high school course that teaches Visual Basic 6.0. Therefore, we have about a semester's worth of knowledge in VB Code, so we are not familiar with extremely complex coding.

    During this course, our final assignment is to create a relatively large program, and we can do this project on anything we want. Personally, I chose to simulate the card game 'War,' while xmrw chose to simulate the game 'ConnectFour.'

    So our current dilemma is to create a random number sequence without repeating numbers. I need to do this in order to simulate a random deck, with no more than one of each card. As a result, I have the program pick a number from 1 to 52 and it chooses a card accordingly. Now I am working on eliminating the possibility of repeating cards.

    xmrw's problem has to do with the computer's turn when playing ConnectFour. He wants to make sure the computer doesn't pick a spot that was already chosen, either randomly or by the player.

    If you need more information about our current projects, just ask.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    5,362

    Re: Simple Randomize Question

    For the deck you can use a routine similar to what I showed in my earlier post, just change the numbers from 7 to 52 and make the variable public. Use the logic in that routine to create a Shuffle sub then deal the cards from the array in order.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    394

    Re: Simple Randomize Question

    In one of my many searches I came across a connect 4 game that used a simple Min/Max algorithm as its AI. I believe I found this at PSC (Planet-source-code.com). A search of the site or your favorite search engine should reveal some interesting results.

    However, for keeping track of the play area for connect 4, a simple two dimensional boolean array or a two dimensional byte array should be sufficient...

    Good Luck

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    2

    Red face Re: Simple Randomize Question

    Thank you all very much. Some of that code suggested is a little too difficult and complicated for me at the moment. I just used a GoTo, and it worked pretty well... For now.


    My next problem is going to be something along the lines of after choosing a position (computer or person) , the computer/person will be able to move to the position aloft.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,923

    Re: Simple Randomize Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Shake926 View Post
    I'd just like to add some extra information about xmrw and I. We're both freshmen students of a high school course that teaches Visual Basic 6.0. Therefore, we have about a semester's worth of knowledge in VB Code, so we are not familiar with extremely complex coding.

    During this course, our final assignment is to create a relatively large program, and we can do this project on anything we want. Personally, I chose to simulate the card game 'War,' while xmrw chose to simulate the game 'ConnectFour.'

    So our current dilemma is to create a random number sequence without repeating numbers. I need to do this in order to simulate a random deck, with no more than one of each card. As a result, I have the program pick a number from 1 to 52 and it chooses a card accordingly. Now I am working on eliminating the possibility of repeating cards.

    xmrw's problem has to do with the computer's turn when playing ConnectFour. He wants to make sure the computer doesn't pick a spot that was already chosen, either randomly or by the player.

    If you need more information about our current projects, just ask.
    Dear Shake926, I've seen that problem appear multiple times on the forum, have a look at this post:

    http://www.codeguru.com/forum/showth...ghlight=random

    Imo, it's the best solution for deck shuffling.

    Regards

    JeffB
    CodeGuru VB FAQ Visual Basic Frequently Asked Questions
    VB Code color Tool to color your VB code on CodeGuru
    Before you post Importants informations to know before posting

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  





Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Featured