How to Remove "Expand Submenu" Arrow?
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to Remove "Expand Submenu" Arrow?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3

    How to Remove "Expand Submenu" Arrow?

    When creating menus with submenus in Visual C++, I find that submenus begin as arrows that I must click to expand to see their contents. Is there a way (programatically) to have the submenus pop-out already expanded (with no arrow to click)?
    Here is an image of what I am talking about, before and after clicking aforementioned arrow: http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=Pq1qL6rr

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Timisoara, Romania
    Posts
    14,360

    Re: How to Remove "Expand Submenu" Arrow?

    How are you creating them? They should not appear like in the first image.
    Marius Bancila
    Home Page
    My CodeGuru articles

    I do not offer technical support via PM or e-mail. Please use vbBulletin codes.

  3. #3
    VictorN's Avatar
    VictorN is offline Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Wallisellen (ZH), Switzerland
    Posts
    17,011

    Re: How to Remove "Expand Submenu" Arrow?

    Quote Originally Posted by NathanFig View Post
    ... Here is an image of what I am talking about, before and after clicking aforementioned arrow: http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=Pq1qL6rr
    I agree with cilu (at least, I never saw such a behaviour).
    And it would be much better if you attached image(s) to your post (Some Admins don't allow access some of "free" sites used to upload pictures)
    Last edited by VictorN; August 4th, 2009 at 10:41 AM.
    Victor Nijegorodov

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Holland (land of the dope)
    Posts
    4,123

    Re: How to Remove "Expand Submenu" Arrow?

    Isn't this effect triggered by the windows 'personalized menus' functionality which hides the least used menus ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3

    Re: How to Remove "Expand Submenu" Arrow?

    I thought Skizmo was on to something, but the problem persists when I disable personalized menus on this PC.

    I am creating these menus through an MFC Application project in Visual Studio 2008. I simply add menus to the resource file via the Resource View pane. In the editor they appear fine, there is no such arrow- only when running.

    This would appear to be an unusual problem, I have not yet found anyone else online who has dealt with the same issue.


    Quote Originally Posted by VictorN View Post
    And it would be much better if you attached image(s) to your post (Some Admins don't allow access some of "free" sites used to upload pictures)
    Thank you, I will keep this in mind next time.
    Last edited by NathanFig; August 4th, 2009 at 12:24 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Timisoara, Romania
    Posts
    14,360

    Re: How to Remove "Expand Submenu" Arrow?

    Can you reproduce this with a small demo project? If so attach it here, and I'll check it.
    Marius Bancila
    Home Page
    My CodeGuru articles

    I do not offer technical support via PM or e-mail. Please use vbBulletin codes.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3

    Re: How to Remove "Expand Submenu" Arrow?

    Ah, nevermind. My question has been answered on Stack Overflow: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...and-menu-arrow

    Thank you all for your time.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Azure Activities Information Page

Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center