Application run well in Intel proccesor but it don't run in AMD processor
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Application run well in Intel proccesor but it don't run in AMD processor

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    3

    Application run well in Intel proccesor but it don't run in AMD processor

    Hi people:

    I have a windows application make in Visual C++ run well in Intel Proccesor but it crash in another same Windows XP OS with AMD Proccesor.

    Any suggetions?

    Tia,
    jetm

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    New York, NY, USA
    Posts
    5,526

    Re: Application run well in Intel proccesor but it don't run in AMD processor

    Quote Originally Posted by jetm View Post
    I have a windows application make in Visual C++ run well in Intel Proccesor but it crash in another same Windows XP OS with AMD Proccesor.

    Any suggetions?
    Based on your input – stay away from AMD…
    Seriously, what do you say in response to “My app crashed. Any suggestions?”
    Did you try to debug this app on AMD?
    Vlad - MS MVP [2007 - 2012] - www.FeinSoftware.com
    Convenience and productivity tools for Microsoft Visual Studio:
    FeinViewer - an integrated GDI objects viewer for Visual C++ Debugger, and more...

  3. #3
    GCDEF is offline Elite Member Power Poster
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    12,106

    Re: Application run well in Intel proccesor but it don't run in AMD processor

    I'd be surprised if the processor is the reason for the crash.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Posts
    27,429

    Re: Application run well in Intel proccesor but it don't run in AMD processor

    Quote Originally Posted by jetm View Post
    Hi people:

    I have a windows application make in Visual C++ run well in Intel Proccesor but it crash in another same Windows XP OS with AMD Proccesor.

    Any suggetions?
    Maybe it isn't the processor. It could be that the first computer faces east, while the other faces west.

    Seriously, why are you blaming the processor? Maybe your app has a bug.

    Regards,

    Paul McKenzie

  5. #5
    VictorN's Avatar
    VictorN is offline Super Moderator Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Wallisellen (ZH), Switzerland
    Posts
    17,415

    Re: Application run well in Intel proccesor but it don't run in AMD processor

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul McKenzie View Post
    Maybe it isn't the processor. It could be that the first computer faces east, while the other faces west.

    Victor Nijegorodov

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    3

    Re: Application run well in Intel proccesor but it don't run in AMD processor

    That is the part when App crash:

    Loaded "MIDIMAP.DLL" at address 0x77BD0000 by thread 1. Successfully hooked module.
    DllMain(0x77BD0000, DLL_PROCESS_ATTACH, 0x00000000) in "MIDIMAP.DLL" called by thread 1.
    DllMain(0x77BD0000, DLL_PROCESS_ATTACH, 0x00000000) in "MIDIMAP.DLL" returned 1 (0x1) by thread 1.
    LoadLibraryW("midimap.dll") returned 0x77BD0000 by thread 1.
    GetProcAddress(0x77BD0000 [MIDIMAP.DLL], "DriverProc") called from "WINMM.DLL" at address 0x76B43034 and returned 0x77BD1317 by thread 1.
    LoadLibraryW("midimap.dll") called from "WINMM.DLL" at address 0x76B43384 by thread 1.
    LoadLibraryW("midimap.dll") returned 0x77BD0000 by thread 1.
    GetProcAddress(0x77BD0000 [MIDIMAP.DLL], "DriverProc") called from "WINMM.DLL" at address 0x76B43034 and returned 0x77BD1317 by thread 1.
    GetProcAddress(0x77BD0000 [MIDIMAP.DLL], "modMessage") called from "WINMM.DLL" at address 0x76B43AFA and returned 0x77BD2995 by thread 1.
    LoadLibraryW("midimap.dll") called from "WINMM.DLL" at address 0x76B43384 by thread 1.
    LoadLibraryW("midimap.dll") returned 0x77BD0000 by thread 1.
    GetProcAddress(0x77BD0000 [MIDIMAP.DLL], "DriverProc") called from "WINMM.DLL" at address 0x76B43034 and returned 0x77BD1317 by thread 1.
    GetProcAddress(0x77BD0000 [MIDIMAP.DLL], "midMessage") called from "WINMM.DLL" at address 0x76B43AFA and returned NULL by thread 1. Error: The specified procedure could not be found (127).
    GetProcAddress(0x77BD0000 [MIDIMAP.DLL], "modMessage") called from "WINMM.DLL" at address 0x76B43AFA and returned 0x77BD2995 by thread 1.
    LoadLibraryW("midimap.dll") called from "WINMM.DLL" at address 0x76B43384 by thread 1.
    LoadLibraryW("midimap.dll") returned 0x77BD0000 by thread 1.
    GetProcAddress(0x77BD0000 [MIDIMAP.DLL], "DriverProc") called from "WINMM.DLL" at address 0x76B43034 and returned 0x77BD1317 by thread 1.
    GetProcAddress(0x77BD0000 [MIDIMAP.DLL], "midMessage") called from "WINMM.DLL" at address 0x76B43AFA and returned NULL by thread 1. Error: The specified procedure could not be found (127).
    Second chance exception 0xC0000005 (Access Violation) occurred in "LOCAL.EXE" at address 0x004DB996 by thread 1.
    Thread 3 exited with code -1073741819 (0xC0000005).
    Thread 2 exited with code -1073741819 (0xC0000005).
    Exited "LOCAL.EXE" (process 0xC50) with code -1073741819 (0xC0000005) by thread 1.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Posts
    27,429

    Re: Application run well in Intel proccesor but it don't run in AMD processor

    Quote Originally Posted by jetm View Post
    That is the part when App crash:
    Those errors have nothing to do with the processor.

    If you read these messages, they clearly state that there are functions missing from WINMM.DLL and other DLL's that you are trying to access. Maybe on one computer the version of those DLL's are different than on the other computer.

    And yes, your app has a bug (or at least a deficiency) -- it doesn't know what to do if the versions of the DLL's do not have those functions. It assumes those functions exist and just goes into hyperspace trying to call those non-existent functions. You should have a test if those functions are there or not -- if they are not there, log a message and exit gracefully, not hard crash.

    Regards,

    Paul McKenzie
    Last edited by Paul McKenzie; November 20th, 2009 at 12:10 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    3

    Re: Application run well in Intel proccesor but it don't run in AMD processor

    I installed a clean and same Windows XP in a two PC with Intel and AMD processor severally, work fine in Intel but it don't AMD.

    p.d: I don't have the source of Software.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Posts
    27,429

    Re: Application run well in Intel proccesor but it don't run in AMD processor

    Quote Originally Posted by jetm View Post
    I installed a clean and same Windows XP in a two PC with Intel and AMD processor severally, work fine in Intel but it don't AMD.
    You have to do a little more research than that.

    Look at the error messages -- what do they mean to you? Especially, look at this one:
    Code:
    GetProcAddress(0x77BD0000 [MIDIMAP.DLL], "midMessage") called from "WINMM.DLL" at address 0x76B43AFA and returned NULL by thread 1. Error: The specified procedure could not be found (127).
    It certainly says that a certain function is missing from the MIDIMAP.DLL. So as a programmer, you use the tools you have to see if those errors are legitimate.

    Start DependencyWalker (or a similar app), and load the DLL into Dependecy Walker.

    Look at the exported function names for the DLL> For the machine that is giving the error, do you see midMessage as an exported function? If not, then go to the machine that works and do the same thing. Do you see a "midMessage" exported function there? If you do, then the DLL's are not the same. Then you check the version numbers/info of the DLL to see if they are the same version.
    p.d: I don't have the source of Software.
    You don't need the source code. All you need are tools to tell you whether exported functions in a DLL exist or not (and that is what DependencyWalker does).

    Regards,

    Paul McKenzie

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center