CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Help with memory allocation for multiplayer game server

Hello, I'm kind of new to C++ development in linux and I'm trying to make a multiplayer game. I know that it is a bit of complex program to start but I have some background on this type of program from other languages so I guess the most difficult part is taming the language.

Although I'm programming a multiplayer game, my doubts are about the best way to handle the memory and avoid leaks in C++.

My doubts are about allocating memory for the client objects and for the game tables. For the client objects I've read that the std containers handle the memory allocation for me. I don't know if this memory is allocated on heap so I've decided to use a map of pointers (with the socket fd as key) to client object. This way, I have something like this when a client connect and disconnect:

Daemon.cpp

map<int,Client*> clientList;

//Do server stuff

//Add connected client to list
    void onConnect(int socketFd) {
    clientList[socketFd] = new Client();
    }

//remove connected client from list
    void onDisconnect(int socketFd) {
    delete clientList[socketFd];
    clientList.erase(socketFd);
    }

The Client class is a simple class that has a virtual destructor, some client parameters (like IP, connected time, etc) and some methods (like send, etc). Is this the best way to keep track of clients without memory problems? I guess I still have to add exceptions handling on new Client() allocations...

The second part, and I guess the most difficult for me, is about the game tables. Clients can enter and leave tables of games. I have a table class with a lot of parameters, constants and methods. I'm creating all the game tables on start up on the same Daemon.cpp described above:

Daemon.cpp

GameTable *tables;

int main() {
    tables = new Chess[MAX_NUMBER_OF_TABLES];
    }