CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Hybrid View

A couple of radio button questions

I have two questions regarding radio buttons. I'm using Visual Studio 2008 Express with the targeted .Net framework being 2.0. I'm also still very new to C# and just trying to learn as I go.

My first question is that I am using CheckChanged, but I noticed that by doing that the code for not just the radio button that is checked is ran, but the code for the one that gets unchecked will run as well.

How do I stop that from happening?

My second question is about saving which radio buttons are checked. I have no idea about this. I want the radio buttons that the user selects to be saved so that the next time the program is opened the user doesn't have to go and reselect everything again.

Can I use Settings.settings? If so, how? Or do I need to use something else? I've searched for this, but nothing I've come across makes sense to me.

Arjay is offline Moderator / EX MS MVP Power Poster

Re: A couple of radio button questions

Quote Originally Posted by Vorkosigan View Post
    My first question is that I am using CheckChanged, but I noticed that by doing that the code for not just the radio button that is checked is ran, but the code for the one that gets unchecked will run as well.

How do I stop that from happening?
    You don't. From within the CheckChanged handlers, use the Checked property to determine the state. If you only want to handle the condition where an item is checked, then check for if( Checked == true ) inside the handler.

Thanks Arjay, that did the trick. I knew it had to be something simple, but just wasn't sure what.