Why is codeguru slow, and yet it isn't ?
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Why is codeguru slow, and yet it isn't ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Holland (land of the dope)
    Posts
    4,123

    Why is codeguru slow, and yet it isn't ?

    Every time I click a codeguru link it takes 3-4 seconds before a response comes, but when the response comes it reacts fast ? Where does the initial 3-4 seconds come from ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    8,062

    Re: Why is codeguru slow, and yet it isn't ?

    It's pretty fast on my end.
    Maybe some firewall or proxy on your way?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    4,640

    Re: Why is codeguru slow, and yet it isn't ?

    Sounds like some kind of latency issue... But, CG has been pretty consistent (fast) for me as well.

    Viggy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Holland (land of the dope)
    Posts
    4,123

    Re: Why is codeguru slow, and yet it isn't ?

    Strange... I always have a hiccup before it actually reacts... must be local then. Must do some investigating

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    598

    Re: Why is codeguru slow, and yet it isn't ?

    Maybe it is due to the banners of advertisements. They are displayed via a links to external servers. Sometimes these servers need time to select the right ad for me and to load the animation. On the bottom of my Chrome window, I sometimes see "waiting for ...." and it is about an ads server.
    Last edited by olivthill2; May 4th, 2010 at 03:29 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    149

    Re: Why is codeguru slow, and yet it isn't ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Skizmo View Post
    Every time I click a codeguru link it takes 3-4 seconds before a response comes, but when the response comes it reacts fast ? Where does the initial 3-4 seconds come from ?

    Same for me, but i work for a company that puts filters on the webcontent.. is a miracle that i can access to codeguru..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Holland (land of the dope)
    Posts
    4,123

    Re: Why is codeguru slow, and yet it isn't ?

    Maybe it is due to the banners of advertisements.
    Adblock

    Same for me, but i work for a company that puts filters on the webcontent.. is a miracle that i can access to codeguru..
    Our company proxy makes it even worse.... sometimes 10-15 seconds

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Azure Activities Information Page

Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center