CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Question Update Requires A Valid DeleteCommand Issue

Heya all,

I'm pretty new to VB.NET, up until recently I've been an Access developer but sadly there ain't no jobs in it anymore so I'm forced to become a VB.NET developer (to be fair it's about time).

I'm going through a book which is teaching me some basic coding principles of the language. The current section is detailing how to set up a master child form using two tables linked with a foreign key. The master table is displayed as a number of text boxes, and below is a grid with the child table which shows related records to whatever master record you happen to be checking out. At the top of the screen are the default navigation controls that are added with the grid. The master table is named Person and the child table Book. They are linked using a foreign key and have cascade set up on them.

The book informed me of the code required under the save icon on the navigation control so that when it is clicked both tables will be updated as required. It is as follows:

If Validate() Then

'Make sure editing has completed on both master and child tables
    Me.BookBindingSource.EndEdit()
    Me.PersonBindingSource.EndEdit()

Try

'Delete records in child table (Book)
    Me.BookTableAdapter.Update(Me.MyDBDataSet.Book.Select("", "", DataViewRowState.Deleted))

'Handle add, update and delete in parent table (Person)
    Me.PersonTableAdapter.Update(Me.MyDBDataSet.Person.Select("", "", DataViewRowState.Added Or DataViewRowState.ModifiedCurrent Or DataViewRowState.Deleted))

'Handle add and update in child table (Book)
    Me.BookTableAdapter.Update(Me.MyDBDataSet.Book.Select("", "", DataViewRowState.Added Or DataViewRowState.ModifiedCurrent))

Catch ex As Exception

'Display message if error occurs
    MessageBox.Show(ex.Message)

End Try

End If