Most of my programming is in graphics (I lurk over at creators.xna.com) but I have an application that needs to communicate via UDP with another computer (an eye-tracking system), and I *cannot* get it working correctly, and need some help.

I'm not a programmer by trade, its just something that I manage to do (most of the time) when I need it.

I'm completly noob at network stuff, so please feel free to correct any misused terminology.

These two computers are directly connected by an ethernet cable. There is no problem with the connectivity. The remote system that I wish to interact with has proprietary software that I can install on my laptop and interact with the remote computer. I can send commands to it and it responds, and it returns the correct confirmation data that appears in the remote command software. So, the communication link is there and working both directions. I'm not getting blocked by a firewall etc.

I need to establish such connectivity via my own program, and am just having fits with it all weekend.

The address of the remote computer is 169.254.206.214, port 4444. I assume it listens on port 4444 for any data intended for its IP address.

I configure a UdpClient to send data there as:

udpClient = new UdPClient()

send_to_endpoint = new IPEndpoint(IPAddress.Parse("169.254.206.214"),4444);

Then, I encode the message to send using Encoding... and send the message as

udpClient.Send(send_bytes,send_bytes.Length,send_to_endpoint);

That part works! I can get messages to the remote computer and it responds correctly.

What I cannot do is figure out how to correctly configure a udPClient to receive messages. I have seen multiple examples on the internet, but cannot get any to work.

The remote software is configured to send commands to my computers IPaddress at port 5555.