CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

[RESOLVED] How to Parse 1000 Files, Skipping "Bad" Lines?

Hi everyone,

I'm a moderately experienced C++ programmer working on code which must do the following:
    (a) Import data from a lot of little files
    (b) Load that data into various objects
    (c) Do stuff with that data

The code I've written does (a), (b), and (c) pretty well, but I've noticed a problem with (a), which I want to ask you guys about.

Suppose I have 1000 source files. My program successfully processes Files #1 through #500. But when it reaches File #501, my program chokes and seg faults, and I automatically lose *ALL* the data I've collected. This is a big problem, because there is a LOT of data to process. It may take me three or four hours just to reach File #500.

When the program reads a file, each individual line is loaded into a string called Line, which is then parsed for individual values. If I'm reading gdb right (output below), the parsing is causing the trouble. As for the line in the file which is causing the trouble, I don't see any format problems with the line itself. When I run the program multiple times, it is the same exact line which causes the seg fault every time.

What would be awesome would be a way to tell the program, "if you see a line which confuses you, skip that line, don't just automatically crash!" Skipping the entire file would be okay too.

Below is the code I'm using. Below that is the gdb analysis of why my program is choking. Any help or advice would be appreciated!

===================================================================
    My Code:

Code:
    vector<string> ListOfFiles;
    string Line;
    vector<string> ValRow;

// Load all the file names into ListOfFiles

for(int i=0; i<ListOfFiles.size(); i++)
      {
        Line.clear();
        ifstream In_Flows((ListOfFiles[i]).c_str());
        while (getline(In_Flows, Line))
          {