CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Arrow Random choosing - but making sure everything is run at least once?

Hello all,

I am pretty new to C#, learning it myself. Working on a project in the book, about creating a random dog race winner. I got it to work, but I am trying to make it more realistic. The same dog wins almost everytime because he is the first one that is executed everytime.

This is what I would like: Randomly choosing a dog method to run/ or if statement to run. But every dog must run at least once before starting over and randomly choosing who goes first, second, third, and fourth.

I have four if statements like this:

// Dog One
    if (dogLocation[0] >= 483)
    {
    MessageBox.Show("Who won? " + dogs[0].name + " Did!", "We Have a Winner!");
    won = true;
    break;
    }
    else
    {
    dogLocation[0] = dogs[0].Run(dogLocation[0], picDogOne, dogs[0].StartingPosition);
    this.Update();

}
    // Dog Two
    //etc....

This is kind of what I tried:

//Randomize Run Order for this loop
    int orderholder;
    for (int i = 0; i <= 3; i++)
    {
    assign = true;
    orderholder = DogsRunning[RunOrderRandomizer.Next(4)];
    //Check for duplicate entry
    looper = i;
    while (looper >= 1)
    {
    if (runorder[i-1] == orderholder)
    assign = false;
    looper--;
    }
    if (assign == true)
    runorder[i] = orderholder;
    else
    i=i-1;

But its giving me duplicates.

Thank you!

Re: Random choosing - but making sure everything is run at least once?

I have not looked into random number generation in C# yet but if your same dog is winning almost everytime it sounds like you are not truly generating a random number. In VB you must seed the random function. If you fail to do so then each time you run the program the random numbers will be the same as the time before.