CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Hybrid View

[VC++] Creating objects on the fly

I have been searching for quite a while to no avail for this answer, and was hoping that someone may have the answer here.

I'm not new to c++; I have been working with it for about 3 years now, and recently moved into visual c++ (with Microsoft Visual Studio 2008), where I quickly ran into a problem I have yet to answer.

My question seems easy enough; is it possible to create objects (such as labels or picture boxes) on the fly from within functions, rather than in the namespace constructor?
    I know the general creation code defined with the handles/pointers in the beginning of the form's namespace, but I'm wondering if - through a function - it is possible to create and destroy them?
    And if so, what is the proper syntax, and how would I be able to - if at all possible - port it over to an external .cpp file?

Considering the diversity of the C++ language, I believe that the answer to my problems exist, but I have yet to find out precisely what it is.

Any potential help would be appreciated.

Re: [VC++] Creating objects on the fly

I know the general creation code defined with the handles/pointers in the beginning of the form's namespace
    I have no idea what you mean by this, but you can simply create a object runtime whenever and wherever you want.

GCDEF is offline Elite Member Power Poster

Quote Originally Posted by Skizmo View Post
    I have no idea what you mean by this, but you can simply create a object runtime whenever and wherever you want.
    Pretty much nothing in that post made sense to me, but I agree that he's probably talking about managed C++.

Sorry, I thought I subscribed to this when I created this question.

What exactly do you mean by "managed c++"? I'm not using the MFC, if that's what you're referring to, just the normal visual form creation built into Visual Studio 2008.