CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Hybrid View

Erroneous Merge Sort !?

I attached all functions, but only the file mergesort is really relevant.
    The way I see it, the call to the function "merge" in line 16 is in no way recursive. But my professor insists it is.
    I mean, the array "left" only holds one value (the element 0 of arraytosort), and the algorithm thus only sorts
    the first and last elements of an array.

Check it out, it's a gorgeous algorithm, easy to understand.

Thanks a lot guys! (I'm studying business administration, but we have this cs course and I'm relatively new to programming so maybe I'm wrong...I don't have a c# compiler and i can only do the initial program statements in c++. That's why i can't let the pc test it )
    Attached Images Attached Images     
    Last edited by excelguru; June 3rd, 2010 at 05:17 PM.

Re: Erroneous Merge Sort !?

Please, I would really love to get some answers...Thanks!

You are using recursive calls to mergesort and mergesort calls merge so in effect I suppose it could be said merge is being recursed as well.
    Always use [code][/code] tags when posting code.

Quote Originally Posted by DataMiser View Post
    You are using recursive calls to mergesort and mergesort calls merge so in effect I suppose it could be said merge is being recursed as well.
    Mergesort is called recursively, but the variable "left" just receives the "leftmost" value, i.e. element 0 of arraytosort, doesn't it?
    Then the program moves on and merge is called with only one element, I guess.
    Shouldn't it be something like merge(mergesort(left), mergesort(right)) ?
    Thanks a lot for taking the time...what do you think?