CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

[RESOLVED] Include files as references, instead of a copy?

Hello,

I'm kind of new to C#, (and new to this forum),
    But anyway, I used to be a vb6 / Java programmer, but recently I started to learn c#...

So, in vb6 and Java when you add a class, it just includes a reference to that file, which allowed me to make one folder with "includes", and use those files in many different projects.
    In c# I noticed when I try to add an existing item, it creates a copy of that file, instead of using it as a reference, which is really bothering me.

I was wonder if its possible to include files in c# without actually copying the file into the project location.

FYI, I'm using Visual Studio 2010.

Thanks in advance for the help

Re: Include files as references, instead of a copy?

Yeah C# sucks about that. I have tried a million different ways to do this including putting the projects all in one folder (Don't do that by the way). For some reason MS just does not want to think that people would want different projects to share a file from a centralized location.

The only work around I came up with is to manually edit the .csproj file in notepad, It will do it correctly then but it will cause havoc with the source control, so you will have to manually check that file in and out of source control.

Anyway I will be watching, if anyone else has a solution I would be glad to hear it also.
    Last edited by matthewsanford@gmail.com; July 1st, 2010 at 03:18 PM.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Disclaimer - Most likely any code I have posted as an answer was most likely written free hand and may have some minor compile errors, and is merely intended to give you the idea.