CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Hybrid View

unable to start program

Hello,
    I'm a beginning programmer and I'm trying to compile a simple program but I get the following error:

"Unable to start program 'C:\Users\mhollida\documents\visual studio 2010\Projects\holaMundo\Debug\holaMundo.exe'.

The system cannot find the file specified."

I checked the file path in the error and there was no .exe file there. I did a search from the start menu to see if there was a program by that name anywhere and the search came up empty so I'm assuming that no .exe file was created. I'm not sure why it wouldn't create a .exe file since it said the program was compiled successfully.

I'm running a program that my professor successfully compiled and ran in class so I don't think it's a problem with the program itself. I'm not sure what information is relevant to solving this problem, so I'll recount exactly what I did:

1)I opened visual c++ and created an empty project (just like the professor).
    2)I clicked on the "Source Files" folder on the Solution Navigator and created a new C++ class.
    3)I pasted the program into the folder and pressed F7. It then said that the build succeeded.
    4)When I pressed F5 (I also tried Debug--Start Debugging from the top menu) and I got the aforementioned error.

I'm not sure what to do at this point and I hope this is just some stupid beginner mistake that I'm making that someone can point out.

Thanks for any information you can give me.

Re: unable to start program

Hi,

What you are seeing is normal for an empty project. When you create an empty project, it's exactly that, nothing is included or set up. VS doesn't know whether you're going to create a DLL, a library, an executable or something else. You would need to define all those things yourself, so it's not an easy way to start.