CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Smile Where am I with C++

Hi There,

I've been programming in c++ for a few months and I was wondering if you could look at my project(A Text Based Game) to tell me where I am with it and if there is anything I could work on. Could you just glance over the code in all 3 files because you can't see the complexity of the application from the unfinished compiled main executable.

Thanks

XtremeDeveloper

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9199238/IRPG.zip

Re: Where am I with C++

Your website is actually blocked to me. Why don't you just paste the code here? It will make it that much simpler for everyone. There is no post size limit.
    Is your question related to IO?
    Read this C++ FAQ article at parashift by Marshall Cline. In particular points 1-6.
    It will explain how to correctly deal with IO, how to validate input, and why you shouldn't count on "while(!in.eof())". And it always makes for excellent reading.

Hi,

only a few things seen after a very short review:

1. Your code is terribly formatted.
    Code:
    int MaxLevel=myCharacter.Level+5;
    Is there any reason not to write
    Code:
    int MaxLevel = myCharacter.Level + 5;
    Do you see the difference? The meaning of this source line can be "scanned" much better (there is one int variable declared and initialized by the sum of 5 and the level of myCharacter).

2. You make use of many "magical" constants.

"5" "250" : No one knows what they are.

A better style is to make them as constants:
    Code:
    #define MAX_POINTS_PER_ATTACK 125
    If you use these symbolic constants your code will be readable much more.

3. Your program is not error prone.

Try to input "a" in the "main menu" ....

4. You mixed the extensions of .h and .cpp files.

Your character.cpp contains what usually can be found in a header file.

So far for the moment

With regards
    Programartist