CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    203

    Display exe at task bar

    I create a dialog base application which contains 2 dialogs.
    on first dialog there is a button. When i click on that button, i display second dialog and hide first dialog. When second dialog display and i minimize it, the exe does not display at task bar. Can i do something to display exe at task bar for that case?


    dialog1-> button click function

    button_click()
    {
    dialog1.hide()
    display dialog2 (call its do modal)
    }

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Voronezh, Russia
    Posts
    6,620

    Re: Display exe at task bar

    Sounds like you specify the first dialog as the second's parent. Set NULL parent instead for the second dialog.
    Best regards,
    Igor

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    835

    Re: Display exe at task bar

    What Igor Sir said was absolutely correct.

    When you set your second dialog with no parent you will get an entry in taskbar for this dialog, moreover you discovered a tricky thing which may be useful to you later.

    You made an application which is not showing on taskbar. Isn't it ?. I posted similar a fews months ago regarding "Application with no taskbar entry".

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    203

    Re: Display exe at task bar

    I tried to set parent as NULL for second dialog but it's not working. I do not found exe at task bar.
    Is there any example?
    Well i did not find the post "Application with no taskbar entry".

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    835

    Re: Display exe at task bar

    Turn on "Application Window" TRUE from property for your 2nd Dialog. And make sure that you are creating 2nd dialog with Create instead of DoModal.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    203

    Re: Display exe at task bar

    I am using DoModal() to display second dialog.
    Is it not possible if i display second dialog using DoModal and hide first dialog?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    203

    Re: Display exe at task bar

    thanks for reply
    i got a way to do this
    before calling domodal of any dialog pass its address to main window. before closing dialog pass previous dialog address to main window.I believe it will not clean any data of previous dialog when next dialog display

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  





Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Featured