migrating JDK1.4 to JDK1.5
CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: migrating JDK1.4 to JDK1.5

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation migrating JDK1.4 to JDK1.5

    Hi,

    I am trying to make our application JDK 1.5 compatible. Currently we are using JDK1.4 which is working fine.

    While building the ear file I am getting symbol not found error.

    I am getting this error for the enterprise method. I am trying to invoke the stateless session beans using remote interface.

    Kindly help me in fixing this issue.

    Thanks,
    Karthik

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,474

    Re: migrating JDK1.4 to JDK1.5

    Each new version of Java is supposed to be backward compatible with previous versions. Occasionally there have been issues where things work slightly differently (or not at all) in newer versions but these are bugs rather than features changes. I've never heard of something that compiled in version 1.4 not compiling in version 1.5, can you explain exactly what you have done and also show the error messages you are getting and the relevant code.
    Posting code? Use code tags like this: [code]...Your code here...[/code]
    Click here for examples of Java Code

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4

    Post Re: migrating JDK1.4 to JDK1.5

    My project structure looks like

    Project
    +ProjectEjb
    +ProjectWeb

    I am trying to invoke the ejb object in projectEjb from projectWeb using remoteinterface

    Code:
    LocalEJBServiceLocator locatorEJB = LocalEJBServiceLocator.getInstance();
    FacadeHome facadeHome = (FacadeHome)locatorEJB.getRemoteHome("ejb/FacadeHome",FacadeHome.class);
    Facade facade = FacadeHome.create();
    facade.sendStatus(1);
    [error]

    [javac] C:\Inventory_Wrkspc\Project\ProjectWeb\JavaSource\com\bank\Web\SendStatusServlet.java:161: cannotfind symbol
    [javac] symbol : method sendStatus(java.util.Calendar,java.util.Calendar)
    [javac] location: interface com.bank.facade.ejb.Facade
    [javac] status = facade.sendStatus(startDate, endDate);
    [javac]

    [/error]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4

    Re: migrating JDK1.4 to JDK1.5

    Code:
    facade.sendStatus(startDate, endDate);

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,474

    Re: migrating JDK1.4 to JDK1.5

    It looks like you are calling the method
    Code:
    sendStatus(java.util.Calendar,java.util.Calendar)
    but this method isn't declared in the interface com.bank.facade.ejb.Facade

    Are you sure your classpath is set correctly, javac may be picking up a different version of the Interface.
    Posting code? Use code tags like this: [code]...Your code here...[/code]
    Click here for examples of Java Code

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4

    Re: migrating JDK1.4 to JDK1.5

    Hi ,

    Im using the same script file for both JDK1.4 & 1.5.

    Able to build the ear using 1.4 were as not with help of 1.5.

    Thanks,
    karthik

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Azure Activities Information Page

Windows Mobile Development Center


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

This is a CodeGuru survey question.


Featured


HTML5 Development Center