CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

programming jobs without degree

Hey all,

I was just curious to those of you who have been around the coding business for a while and maybe even to some of you who hire programmers. Is it even possible to get a job as a programmer without having a degree? Say I'm self-taught. Will I have any chances to get a job as a programmer? I know in the 3D field people don't care about your degree and only look at your reel. What about in the programming world?

thanks!

Re: programming jobs without degree

Quote Originally Posted by stevenpalomino View Post
    Is it even possible to get a job as a programmer without having a degree? Say I'm self-taught.
    As far as I know programmer is not a regulated profession in most countries, so if you have deep special and proven skills I'm sure you can find a job also without formal education. But to build a successful lifelong career a degree is a much safer bet.
    Last edited by nuzzle; February 8th, 2011 at 04:02 AM.

not just degree , plus industry certification like MCSE , Cisco cert , have you ever seen the MVP's in this forum they love to flash it around and it pays, lets face it not everyone is Google.

GCDEF is offline Elite Member Power Poster

Experience is more important than a degree, but getting started without a degree or some kind of certification will be tough. If you just had self-taught on a resume, and no experience, I wouldn't call you. About the only way I think you could do it would be if you already work for a company and they let you start taking on programming assignments and you work your way into it. Getting hired with nothing would be next to impossible I would think.