CodeGuru Home VC++ / MFC / C++ .NET / C# Visual Basic VB Forums Developer.com

Lightbulb Career Development

Hi All,

I was wrestling with this idea in my mind, did some searching online and thought I should hear some ideas from you masters too Can really use your experience...

I have been a software developer for the last two years. (on to the third year now) I have been developing in C, C++ mainly on device driver level. I have been purely a developer not much experience on designing...
    Recently I have been feeling that I need to do some further studying/get some certification. Guess you know what I mean. I have a Bachelor's degree on Electrical Engineering. (Studied C/C++/Java but not much on Software Architecture and stuff)
    I want to call myself a Software Engineer and I feel I need to learn a lot to get there. I would like to hear your ideas about a suitable course/degree to follow.
    My first thoughts were
    - follow a Masters in Software Engineering. (I have no intension in going to full time studying. So a distance learning degree ? ?)
    - Start from a certification like CSDA and continue to add qualifications on C\C++ ? ?

Please, any advise is deeply appreciated

Thanks
    webhoundx

Re: Career Development

Quote Originally Posted by webhoundx View Post
    Hi All,

I was wrestling with this idea in my mind, did some searching online and thought I should hear some ideas from you masters too Can really use your experience...

I have been a software developer for the last two years. (on to the third year now) I have been developing in C, C++ mainly on device driver level. I have been purely a developer not much experience on designing...
    Recently I have been feeling that I need to do some further studying/get some certification. Guess you know what I mean. I have a Bachelor's degree on Electrical Engineering. (Studied C/C++/Java but not much on Software Architecture and stuff)